Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Korg PA800 RAM Samples Noise

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Pa2XPro - Pa800 - Pa500
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
spartan83



Joined: 20 Nov 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2010 6:38 pm    Post subject: Korg PA800 RAM Samples Noise Reply with quote

Hello there...

I have pa800 over three years and my ram memory needs to be replaced second time,because samples from ram have noise wich mean ram is dead!!! Mad Many pa800 users have this same issue with RAM,and I calling them to post on this topic.

I think it is time that someone from korg explain to all korg pa800 users with this issue what is problem with ram,and thake responsibility for obviously pa800 factory bug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sharp
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jan 2002
Posts: 17631
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not necessarily so.
I've fixed quite a few Pa1X keyboards which suffered from the same problem.

I reinstalled the OS using the option that wipes the SSD completely clear. Hasn't failed me yet.

Regards
Sharp.
_________________
KORG Store - Irish Acts Irish Acts Online Store
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
spartan83



Joined: 20 Nov 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2010 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe on pa1x is posible to solve this issue with that solution (reinstallation),but on pa800 nothing by replace ram have no effect.
My friend with this problem is try reinstall,but nothing except replace ram.
When this happened to me first time,my both memory are make noise,ram and rom.
Also I'm not ever hear from any pa1x owner about this problem,just pa800.
I'll truly wish that reinstall is solution,but is not. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sharp
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jan 2002
Posts: 17631
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2010 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to be clear... you do understand that I'm telling you to install the OS using the “Intro 1” button method and not the normal way it says in the manual?

A normal reinstall never fixed this problem on any Pa1X I've worked on. It could only ever be fixed using the method that formatted the SSD, which is to use the Intro 1 method. You press the Intro 1 button rather than pressing OK on the screen to start the OS installation.

Regards
Sharp.
_________________
KORG Store - Irish Acts Irish Acts Online Store
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Atash_sozan



Joined: 16 Mar 2009
Posts: 26
Location: Helsingborg-SE

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
I had the same problem with my Pa800 ,I called em nordic (korg scandinavian) they told me that they donīt sell RAM to Korg Pa800.I went to a music center to order a Ram by them ,it didnīt work. Finaly I ordered a higher Ram memory (256MB) from musitronics.de with itīs procedure and I have my Korg pa800 with 256MB ram and place for 128 drum kits instead of 64 DK.
_________________
With my best regards
________________________
Smiling is good for health ! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
spartan83



Joined: 20 Nov 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Today I was reinstall OS on pa800 and resource (with factory reset metod) and nothing,ram samples still have noise.
Simply,problem is with RAM module like before. Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sharp
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jan 2002
Posts: 17631
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

At least you know for sure now though.

Regards
Sharp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Vangelismusic
Senior Member


Joined: 18 Oct 2007
Posts: 354
Location: Florida US,KORG PA3x, PA4X,KORG TRITON EXTREME

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Atash_sozan wrote:
Hi
I had the same problem with my Pa800 ,I called em nordic (korg scandinavian) they told me that they donīt sell RAM to Korg Pa800.I went to a music center to order a Ram by them ,it didnīt work. Finaly I ordered a higher Ram memory (256MB) from musitronics.de with itīs procedure and I have my Korg pa800 with 256MB ram and place for 128 drum kits instead of 64 DK.


I don't think that you just changed the RAM, there is also a procedure were you have to replace a chip that is very hard to de-solder and solder another in it's place? right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Atash_sozan



Joined: 16 Mar 2009
Posts: 26
Location: Helsingborg-SE

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes ,it was with some procedure and I got all info about that and did it. It works perfect.
_________________
With my best regards
________________________
Smiling is good for health ! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Vangelismusic
Senior Member


Joined: 18 Oct 2007
Posts: 354
Location: Florida US,KORG PA3x, PA4X,KORG TRITON EXTREME

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Was the procedure easy to do? Do you have to have a technical background?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Atash_sozan



Joined: 16 Mar 2009
Posts: 26
Location: Helsingborg-SE

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Vangelis Bachatouras

I think yes, You have to have a technical background ,in that case it is easy.
_________________
With my best regards
________________________
Smiling is good for health ! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
neverkorgagain
Senior Member


Joined: 20 Dec 2009
Posts: 294
Location: Serbia (Srbija)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 6:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which chip u have changed? Do u have pictures? i had pa800 and i was changing ram and motherboard 3 times... so i sold it and bought pa1x again... but i was sondering what was the problem in keyboard???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vangelismusic
Senior Member


Joined: 18 Oct 2007
Posts: 354
Location: Florida US,KORG PA3x, PA4X,KORG TRITON EXTREME

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's an SMD Chip which is quite hard to de-solder and solder back because it has small legs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Lee
Platinum Member


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 1198
Location: IN, USA(PA2XPRO)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should use a solder sucker, correct qualty soldering station/60/40 solder, and have a magnifier/light.
And of course soldering/electronics skills. Also use a ESD wrist band to prevent satic discharge form blowing any circuits.

Worked at IBM as a tech. for many years...it is pretty easy if you have the tools and skill.

There are lots of concerns doing this yourself.

Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Pa2XPro - Pa800 - Pa500 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group