Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Kronos Chord Triggers?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bobbybland
Full Member


Joined: 07 Dec 2007
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:51 pm    Post subject: Kronos Chord Triggers? Reply with quote

Hi,
Anyone know if the Kronos will have the chord triggers in the Kronos? I heard it's going to be touch screen now.

I'd love to be able to link this to my Korg nano pad controller,any idea's if this will be possible?

thanks
_________________
Mac Mac Pro 8 Core|4ghz|1600mhz|12GB Ram|10.7.4 OSX Lion+ Win7|Rme Fireface|VSL1818|Lavry AD10/Lavry DA10|Korg Kronos|Motif RackXS|Korg M3|Karma|MS2000|EmuMP7|Novation Sl MK2 Zero|N.I.Maschine.|Grace 101|Focusrite Pre/Compressors|Presonus Monitor Station|Faderport|DynAudio Bm5a MK2|Event Tr8|22 GIK Traps|2Ears
Software: Cubase 6.5|Studio One Pro 2|Logic 9|Native Instruments|CamelAudio|Spectrasonics|Arturia|Tone2|Toontrack|Lennar Digital/Waves|Synapse Audio.Ik Multimedia|Rob Papen|FxPansion|Steinberg|U-he|Motu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EvilDragon
Platinum Member


Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Posts: 1991
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, you'll still be able to trigger chords from the virtual pads.


About integration with Nanopad, currently the answer is no.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bobbybland
Full Member


Joined: 07 Dec 2007
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay Thank you, will use with NI's Maschine then.. Cool
_________________
Mac Mac Pro 8 Core|4ghz|1600mhz|12GB Ram|10.7.4 OSX Lion+ Win7|Rme Fireface|VSL1818|Lavry AD10/Lavry DA10|Korg Kronos|Motif RackXS|Korg M3|Karma|MS2000|EmuMP7|Novation Sl MK2 Zero|N.I.Maschine.|Grace 101|Focusrite Pre/Compressors|Presonus Monitor Station|Faderport|DynAudio Bm5a MK2|Event Tr8|22 GIK Traps|2Ears
Software: Cubase 6.5|Studio One Pro 2|Logic 9|Native Instruments|CamelAudio|Spectrasonics|Arturia|Tone2|Toontrack|Lennar Digital/Waves|Synapse Audio.Ik Multimedia|Rob Papen|FxPansion|Steinberg|U-he|Motu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StephenKay
KARMA Developer
Approved Merchant
KARMA Developer<br>Approved Merchant


Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Posts: 2763
Location: Scottsdale, AZ

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may be interested in this thread at my forums:

http://www.karma-lab.com/forum/showthread.php?t=17669
_________________
Stephen Kay - KARMA DeveloperKarma-Lab - karma-lab.com

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bobbybland
Full Member


Joined: 07 Dec 2007
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Always Stephen thanks. Cool
_________________
Mac Mac Pro 8 Core|4ghz|1600mhz|12GB Ram|10.7.4 OSX Lion+ Win7|Rme Fireface|VSL1818|Lavry AD10/Lavry DA10|Korg Kronos|Motif RackXS|Korg M3|Karma|MS2000|EmuMP7|Novation Sl MK2 Zero|N.I.Maschine.|Grace 101|Focusrite Pre/Compressors|Presonus Monitor Station|Faderport|DynAudio Bm5a MK2|Event Tr8|22 GIK Traps|2Ears
Software: Cubase 6.5|Studio One Pro 2|Logic 9|Native Instruments|CamelAudio|Spectrasonics|Arturia|Tone2|Toontrack|Lennar Digital/Waves|Synapse Audio.Ik Multimedia|Rob Papen|FxPansion|Steinberg|U-he|Motu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jon Lord
Senior Member


Joined: 07 Sep 2007
Posts: 452
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stephen you know if kronos has multitouch, aka can play two chords/pads at the same time on the virtual pads?
_________________
- Download & share Korg keyboard patches for free.
Korg M3-73 (Radias Exb & Warwick "RC 21728 B" case), Clavia Nord Electro 3.
[On Hold]: Elka MK-88. [Sold]: Roland XP-30, Access Virus C

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cminor
Senior Member


Joined: 22 Apr 2010
Posts: 298
Location: Romania Bucharest

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hate to say it.. but what about velocity?
Will someone have the heart to HIT hard on the screen to obtain hard velocity?
This "virtual" pads system has a big problem...
As hard as you hit.. as short it will be the live of you touch screen...
_________________
Korg M3-61, Korg i40m, Kurzweil SP76
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
X-Trade
Moderator


Joined: 14 Feb 2006
Posts: 6489
Location: Reading, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seeing as some of you apparently haven't bothered to read Stephen's post, I'll quote it here:
Stephen Kay wrote:
In what is already becoming a Frequently Asked Question, here's the answer:
The 8 pads present on the M3 and OASYS do not exist on the KRONOS. However, the internal parameters and pages related to setting the pads (in prog, combi, seq etc.), and triggering them via notes and CCs in the global Mode still exist.

Furthermore, touch triggering of the chords from the screen has been added on the Pads editing page, along with the ability to store your own chords (which is not available from the control surface). So, you can:

1) trigger the 8 chord pads from the pad page with your finger (vertical position equals velocity).
2) use an external controller device that sends CCs or notes, and trigger the 8 chords that way. Some people are presently using pad controllers or foot pedals - they will still work the exact same way on the KRONOS.


And I seem to recall reading in the specs that it is a Resistive touchscreen. AFAIK you don't get resistive multitouch.
_________________
Current Gear: Kronos 61, RADIAS-R, Volca Bass, ESX-1, microKorg, MS2000B, R3, Kaossilator Pro +, MiniKP, AX3000B, nanoKontrol, nanoPad MK II,
Other Mfgrs: Moog Sub37, Roland Boutique JX03, Novation MiniNova, Akai APC40, MOTU MIDI TimePiece 2, ART Pro VLA, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40.
Past Gear: Korg Karma, TR61, Poly800, EA-1, ER-1, ES-1, Kawai K1, Novation ReMote37SL, Boss GT-6B
Software: NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Arturia V Collection, Ableton Live 9. Apple OSX El Capitan on 15" MacBook Pro


Last edited by X-Trade on Wed Jan 19, 2011 11:46 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
prashanth_estra



Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 28
Location: Chennai

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cminor wrote:
I hate to say it.. but what about velocity?
Will someone have the heart to HIT hard on the screen to obtain hard velocity?
This "virtual" pads system has a big problem...
As hard as you hit.. as short it will be the live of you touch screen...


you need not hit hard on the screen to get a high velocity..

just check out this post by Stephen Kay..http://www.karma-lab.com/forum/showthread.php?t=17669

it says:

1) trigger the 8 chord pads from the pad page with your finger (vertical position equals velocity).
_________________
Prashanth.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EnjoyRC
Platinum Member


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 744
Location: John 3:16

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Virtual screen buttons are simply not the same. I have an M3-73. There is something so real about feeling the pad with your finger tip. Resting on the pad in anticipation of playing it in time. Etc...

I know virtual pads will be hard to use. Picture some of the iPad music apps out there. You have to pay so close attention to not prematurely touch the screen before it's proper time in the music. The slightest touch will trigger.

The virtual pads will definitely have their use. But not the same way they did in the past.
_________________

Korg (Kronos 88, Electribe 2, minilogue), Moog (Sub-37, Slim Phatty), Behringer DeepMind 12, Roland (GAIA, A-800-Pro), CME Xkeys
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
X-Trade
Moderator


Joined: 14 Feb 2006
Posts: 6489
Location: Reading, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But it is good that they can now be triggered by an external device - through MIDI Note or CC messages. Should be fairly easy to hook up a foot controller or pad controller. If its that important to you.
_________________
Current Gear: Kronos 61, RADIAS-R, Volca Bass, ESX-1, microKorg, MS2000B, R3, Kaossilator Pro +, MiniKP, AX3000B, nanoKontrol, nanoPad MK II,
Other Mfgrs: Moog Sub37, Roland Boutique JX03, Novation MiniNova, Akai APC40, MOTU MIDI TimePiece 2, ART Pro VLA, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40.
Past Gear: Korg Karma, TR61, Poly800, EA-1, ER-1, ES-1, Kawai K1, Novation ReMote37SL, Boss GT-6B
Software: NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Arturia V Collection, Ableton Live 9. Apple OSX El Capitan on 15" MacBook Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
EJ2
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 13 May 2002
Posts: 2256
Location: Port Rowan, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You know, there may be a physical engineering reason for using "virtual" pads in place of the mechanical pads found on the Karma, OASYS, M3, which many of us lamented their malfunctioning. Frankly, I think there is less of a chance for a design "flaw"; and, being software based, should be correctible in any OS update; whereas mechanical pads require physical servicing. And more than a few of us know about that routine. In addition, determining velocity by the mere position on the screen is less destructive (over time) than thumping mechanical pads.

Just the same, if needed you can use any other midi compliant pad set up such as a Korg padKONTROL http://www.korg.com/product.aspx?pd=414
In the case of this suggested device, you get an X/Y pad as well. There are others, of course, which can be suggested.

Just some thoughts.
Cheers,
Jim (aka EJ2)
_________________
Cheers,
Jim (aka EJ2) Karma-Lab Associate Combi Developer


CATALYST v 2 Blast of Inspiration for KRONOS & OASYS: http://www.karma-lab.com/sounds/catalyst2.html
CATALYST v 1 Combi Explosion for KRONOS, OASYS, M3, & K-M50: http://www.karma-lab.com/sounds/catalyst1.html
CHEMISTRY 3, a Groove Injection for Your Karma: http://www.karma-lab.com/sounds/chem3.html
SoundCloud MP3 Demoshttps://soundcloud.com/ej2-sc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
orpheus2006
Platinum Member


Joined: 17 Nov 2007
Posts: 597
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With the Korg PadKontrol you can't assign chords to a button, or can you?

Embarassed Oops, that was answered already. Pls just ignore this post.
_________________
www.soundcloud.com/orpheus2006
.............................................................
Korg M3-88 w/ EXB-Radias, Yamaha Motif Rack w/ PLG150-AN & PLG150-DR, Novation A-Station, RME Multiface II Audio Interface, Thinkpad T60 Notebook w/ Sonar X3 and various VSTi, Event TR8 monitors, Beyerdynamic DT-770 headphones
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group