Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Knobs & Sliders - Kronos "Tone Adj" page?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jive Talking Robot
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Aug 2010
Posts: 66
Location: Chicago, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 12:49 am    Post subject: Knobs & Sliders - Kronos "Tone Adj" page? Reply with quote

I was fooling around with Stephen Kay's very cool virtual Oasys GUI to further my Kronos education (link here: http://www.karma-lab.com/oasys/gui/OASYS_Virtual_GUI2.html). On the Oasys all of the programs have various synth parameters automatically mapped to the front panel knobs and sliders on the Program > Play > Control Surface > Tone Adj page, which raises a few questions...

> Is it safe to assume that all of the programs in Kronos have their synth parameters mapped to the sliders and knobs as well? If so, can you access and/or reference these parameters via the knobs/sliders when in SEQ mode as well?

> I rely a lot on real-time parameter manipulation via MIDI overdubbing. Will the Kronos sequencer capture all knob/slider movements as CC data?

> Finally, can you reassign/remap the knobs/sliders to other parameters?

Thanks, as always, for your time and assistance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danatkorg
Product Manager, Korg R&D


Joined: 21 Jan 2005
Posts: 4073
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 1:59 am    Post subject: Re: Knobs & Sliders - Kronos "Tone Adj" page? Reply with quote

Jive Talking Robot wrote:
> Is it safe to assume that all of the programs in Kronos have their synth parameters mapped to the sliders and knobs as well?


Yes, all Programs have Tone Adjust setups.

Jive Talking Robot wrote:
If so, can you access and/or reference these parameters via the knobs/sliders when in SEQ mode as well?


Yes, and each Sequence or Combination stores the Tone Adjust settings and assignments for its 16 Programs. Programs can have different Tone Adjust settings in every Seq/Combi.

Jive Talking Robot wrote:
> I rely a lot on real-time parameter manipulation via MIDI overdubbing. Will the Kronos sequencer capture all knob/slider movements as CC data?


CC or SysEx, depending on what's being done. Tone Adjust uses SysEx.

Jive Talking Robot wrote:
> Finally, can you reassign/remap the knobs/sliders to other parameters?


Yes.

Best regards,

Dan
_________________
Dan Phillips
Manager of Product Development, Korg R&D
Personal website: www.danphillips.com
For technical support, please contact your Korg Distributor: http://www.korg.co.jp/English/Distributors/
Regretfully, I cannot offer technical support directly.
If you need to contact me for purposes other than technical support, please do not send PMs; instead, send email to dan@korgrd.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jive Talking Robot
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Aug 2010
Posts: 66
Location: Chicago, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you Dan!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group