Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Electro Static Feeling on my Kronos 2 73

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ShermanJackson



Joined: 12 Oct 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 7:23 am    Post subject: Electro Static Feeling on my Kronos 2 73 Reply with quote

Hi All,

When I connect my Kronos to the power outlet I get an electrical static feeling on the keyboard. How do I get rid of the issue? I'm using it through a UPS. I realise it's a grounding issue and it's annoying.

Not sure why my Kronos came with a 2 prong plug when it should be 3


THANKS GUYS



[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 8183
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 12:44 pm    Post subject: Re: Electro Static Feeling on my Kronos 2 73 Reply with quote

ShermanJackson wrote:
Hi All,

When I connect my Kronos to the power outlet I get an electrical static feeling on the keyboard. How do I get rid of the issue? I'm using it through a UPS. I realise it's a grounding issue and it's annoying.

Not sure why my Kronos came with a 2 prong plug when it should be 3


THANKS GUYS



[/img]


what country ?

in the US, we have had 3 prong standard for some time
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ShermanJackson



Joined: 12 Oct 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm in India
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voip
Platinum Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2014
Posts: 2082

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grounding the keyboard should improve matters. The plug you show does have a ground connection but this comes from a pin sticking out of the mains socket, rather than the plug, or via ground strips on either side of the socket.

See: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AC_power_plugs_and_sockets

Look for CEE 7/3 socket (German) and CEE 7/5 socket (French). The plug is the CEE 7/7 plug.

In the background of the image you posted, there appears to be a UK style 3-pin plug. Either fit one of these plugs onto the cable, or get a ready made cable having that 3-pin plug on one end and an IEC connector for the Kronos end.

If you still experience the electical static feeling after doing this, check the earthing, and also check the condition of wiring around the property. If the property has been badly wired, you may be exposed to strong mains fields, where touching an earthed object will result in an electrical sensation.


.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShermanJackson



Joined: 12 Oct 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would this work -



Could I connect my Korg Triton Studio cable?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomto66
Senior Member


Joined: 26 Jan 2015
Posts: 336
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes that should work!
_________________
Kronos X-88, Nanopad2, Tascam US122 MKii, Roli Rise 49
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manishthatte



Joined: 23 Feb 2018
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2019 10:44 pm    Post subject: bumping... Reply with quote

For anyone in India, facing the same problem: The Kronos ships with EU style plugs in India.
What I did was, I purchased adapters for the plugs from Amazon. They are called schuko adapters. Plug in the Kronos plug into the schuko adapter, then plug in the schuko adapter into a well grounded AC MAINS 3-pin socket.
Problem solved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group