Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Touch screen going crazy!!!!!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Trinity
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Funkybass



Joined: 30 Mar 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 6:24 pm    Post subject: Touch screen going crazy!!!!! Reply with quote

My touch screen on my Trinity seems to have a mind of its own. Generally, either in combi or prog mode, the large fader picture pops up when not touching the screen at all only allowing you to change the fader level...not anything else. Could this be something other than a bad screen that needs to be replaced?

Thanks for any help!
Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MusiKman
Platinum Member


Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 563
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 7:44 pm    Post subject: Re: Touch screen going crazy!!!!! Reply with quote

There are some testing functions that one can run on the Trinity, but I don't recall how to activate them. Do a search on the forum or google. One thing though, backup all your stuff, cause if I recall, it resets everything back to default or better yet, no patches at all left behind. So be very careful when you do find the codes.



Funkybass wrote:
My touch screen on my Trinity seems to have a mind of its own. Generally, either in combi or prog mode, the large fader picture pops up when not touching the screen at all only allowing you to change the fader level...not anything else. Could this be something other than a bad screen that needs to be replaced?

Thanks for any help!
Bill

_________________
Best,
Musikman
---------------------------------------------------
"I know the plans that I have for you, declares the LORD. They are plans for peace and not disaster, plans to give you a future filled with hope." Then you will call to me. You will come and pray to me, and I will hear you. "When you look for me,you will find me. When you wholeheartedly seek me, I will let you find me, declares the Lord." Jeremiah 29:11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
3 fingers
Junior Member


Joined: 30 Oct 2007
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can get to the "Test Mode" by pressing the 5 and ENTER while you switch the power on. There is an LCD test in this mode. MusiKman is right though. You'll loose all your presets when you do this.

Hope it works out for you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pasblas



Joined: 06 Feb 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2017 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

3 fingers wrote:
You can get to the "Test Mode" by pressing the 5 and ENTER while you switch the power on. There is an LCD test in this mode. MusiKman is right though. You'll loose all your presets when you do this.

Hope it works out for you!


To me it happens too but when I'm in select category, suddenly the sound or parameters are changed. Can someone tell me if it has a solution ?? thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Timo
Platinum Member


Joined: 24 Jan 2002
Posts: 3065
Location: Kaoss central, England

PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2017 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could it be a foreign object in between the glass and the touchscreen, something that's pressing on it internally? You could always try dismantling, cleaning and reseating it.
_________________
Korg Moss Soundset [Free Moss Set For All Workstations With Moss Expansion]
www.Infekted.org - Access Virus Community [Infekted.org - Original Access Virus Forum & Community]
Trinity V3 PBS | Radias KB | Virus TI Snow | Virus Indigo 1 | 505 Groovebox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Spacecowboy
Full Member


Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 152
Location: Atlanta, ga. USA

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2017 3:44 pm    Post subject: i THINK i BOUGHT THIS ONE Reply with quote

I may have bought this one. There was a small dent in the touch grid forcing it to stay on like that. i tested it by using some duct tape on the screen and pulling out, and it went away. Just needed a new grid.

Had nothing to do with resetting or test mode. I know this is an old post, but for anyone with same problem may be helpful.
_________________
Korg Trinity Pro 4 DW8000's Access virus KC Roland G8 2 Yamaha ex5's Korg poly 61 Soon to have a Prologue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Timo
Platinum Member


Joined: 24 Jan 2002
Posts: 3065
Location: Kaoss central, England

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2017 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm unfamiliar with touchscreens and grids, where can they be bought?

Thankfully my touchscreen's still ok, touch wood ... screen.
_________________
Korg Moss Soundset [Free Moss Set For All Workstations With Moss Expansion]
www.Infekted.org - Access Virus Community [Infekted.org - Original Access Virus Forum & Community]
Trinity V3 PBS | Radias KB | Virus TI Snow | Virus Indigo 1 | 505 Groovebox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Spacecowboy
Full Member


Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 152
Location: Atlanta, ga. USA

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2017 1:43 pm    Post subject: Where to get grids and lcd's for screen Reply with quote

The screen is 2 parts. The lighted screen with a soft plastic face, Then a glass face with the grid in it with it's own ribbon going to a connector. They are stuck together with a rubber seal and come apart using a thin razor. Even then, if the grid is good, trying to pry it off can bust the glass.

Problem is communicating with sellers of thousands of parts that don't know a Trinity exists. So I've bought LCD replacement that was a tad off and wouldn't fit in the slot. Then there's the grid they sell that has the wrong size ribbon. Hence there's one place that sells the lcd and the grid with adapters to fit the Trinity particularly. They get $250 a pop. I bought one, and even then the screen was brighter than it needed to be. but it does work well. When I saw the adapter they used, i realized, if I could buy a bunch of those, the the grids they sell with the wrong size ribbon are plentiful. It is a mess for sure.
I bought one of these:
http://www.instrumentalparts.com/korg-touch-screen-lcd-replacement-for-triton-and-trinity.html

Talking to technicians about modding equipment, or parts stores that only know part numbers, to actual Korg warranty services, that have no desire to step out of the box make it impossible to find a solution. There are midi controllers that work with some old synths, but only for limited functions.

If you could figure a way to put a video out,or something on the Trinity, and other keyboards, You could make a lot of money. If we knew the concept of the workings of said graphics going to the screen. The keyboard is useless without it.
_________________
Korg Trinity Pro 4 DW8000's Access virus KC Roland G8 2 Yamaha ex5's Korg poly 61 Soon to have a Prologue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Trinity All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group