Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Microkorg & midi - Can someone explain how I do this...

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg MS2000 & microKorg
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ksonix



Joined: 03 Apr 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2017 12:45 pm    Post subject: Microkorg & midi - Can someone explain how I do this... Reply with quote

Hey guys. New to synths but have a pretty good understanding in general. What I can't figure out how to do is assign my Korg SQ-1 to only one of Microkorg's four voices as seen in this video:

https://youtu.be/BYSf3MeGDF8

In the comments the user states he assigned 1 midi channel to one of the 4 voices for the sq-1 sequence, and used a different midi channel for the other 3 to play on top of the sequence. If any of you midi experts could weigh in on this for me, that would be hugely appreciated
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OpAmp
Platinum Member


Joined: 07 Jun 2013
Posts: 734
Location: Brussels, BE

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2017 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

The mK does not support the multi mode as on the mKXL, meaning you can not trigger it using different MIDI channels.
I also did not find this immediately back in the comments.

So here is my take on how it works. It is one timbre, so 4 voices available. The SQ1 outputs a pattern only taking one voice at a time.
The arpeggiator on the board also takes one voice at the time. Meaning there are 2 voices left. They will be used every time that the arpeggiator or SQ1 outputs a new note. The previous voices will still be assigned for a while to ouput the release part of the previous note.
You will need the global setting Position set to post, otherwise the notes of the SQ1 will also be taken into account by the mK arpeggiator.

Bye
_________________
microKORGXL, Kaossilator Pro, monotribe, SQ-1, volca fm, Kross 88 BK
Alesis SR18, Akai Miniak, Fender Strat, Line 6 Spider II 112
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ksonix



Joined: 03 Apr 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2017 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That worked. Thanks so much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg MS2000 & microKorg All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group