Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Windows 10 not seeing Kronos USB MIDI

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Avalon



Joined: 12 Oct 2014
Posts: 18
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:35 am    Post subject: Windows 10 not seeing Kronos USB MIDI Reply with quote

I upgraded my PC a few days ago with new components: CPU, RAM, Mobo, SSD... The motherboard is a Asus ROG Maximus IX Hero.

Before, I was running Windows 10, too and the Kronos was working fine with it but since the upgrade (and fresh install of Windows 10) I cannot get Windows to see the Kronos USB MIDI ports. The driver obviously installed without problems and I can see it in the device manager but in my DAW the KRONOS doesn't appear as a MIDI In/Out (I use Reason but also tried with REAPER, same result). Driver is the latest for Windows 10. I tried different USB cables to make sure they are not the fault.

Also installed the Kronos editor. When starting it scans for Korg Kronos v3.1 but doesn't find any. My Kronos OS is updated to 3.1.2 (This is a Kronos X).

MIDI monitor tool like MIDIOX doesn't help since it cannot find the input port of the Kronos.

I'm out of ideas here. Somebody help me please! This always worked without problems before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alland
Senior Member


Joined: 17 Jun 2009
Posts: 479
Location: Estonia

PostPosted: Sat Jun 10, 2017 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1) There is small utility coming with Korg MIDI drivers called Korg Driver Setup Utility. Is there "Automatic start" ticked and "Monitoring connections" in started status? If not, then tick "Automatic start" and start "Monitoring connections".
2) There is small utility with Korg MIDI drivers: "Configure KORG USB midi driver". Run this and what do you see? If Kronos connected with USB then button "Device list" must be active and pressing that button you should see connected all Korg MIDI devices showing some data. Do you see your Kronos there?
_________________
Korg KronosX/M3/Pa2x Pro • Reaper&Ableton • NI Komplete 10 • Omnisphere • Usine • soundcloud.com/allandd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Avalon



Joined: 12 Oct 2014
Posts: 18
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat Jun 10, 2017 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alland wrote:
1) There is small utility coming with Korg MIDI drivers called Korg Driver Setup Utility. Is there "Automatic start" ticked and "Monitoring connections" in started status? If not, then tick "Automatic start" and start "Monitoring connections".
2) There is small utility with Korg MIDI drivers: "Configure KORG USB midi driver". Run this and what do you see? If Kronos connected with USB then button "Device list" must be active and pressing that button you should see connected all Korg MIDI devices showing some data. Do you see your Kronos there?


Hi alland!

I checked both these tools and the data displayed is correct. Device List shows:

KRONOS
MIDI Port IN: 1 / OUT: 1

Yet still, in my DAWs the ports for the Kronos still don't show up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alland
Senior Member


Joined: 17 Jun 2009
Posts: 479
Location: Estonia

PostPosted: Sat Jun 10, 2017 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Win 10 32 or 64 bit?
Korg drivers running 64 or 32 bit? (see utility "Configure KORG USB midi driver")
DAWs 32 or 64 bit?
_________________
Korg KronosX/M3/Pa2x Pro • Reaper&Ableton • NI Komplete 10 • Omnisphere • Usine • soundcloud.com/allandd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Avalon



Joined: 12 Oct 2014
Posts: 18
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat Jun 10, 2017 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alland wrote:
Win 10 32 or 64 bit?
Korg drivers running 64 or 32 bit? (see utility "Configure KORG USB midi driver")
DAWs 32 or 64 bit?


All 64bit. In the driver settings it's set to both.

Already uninstalled/reinstalled the software several times, once in 'No Driver Signing' safe mode. So far no success.

I need to find out which driver version I used on the previous Windows install. That one didn't have all this additional setup stuff and worked just fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Avalon



Joined: 12 Oct 2014
Posts: 18
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat Jun 10, 2017 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just connected the Korg to my Mac and there, Kronos MIDI in/out works so it's certain that it's not the Kronos or cable. The problem must be with Win 10 or the driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group