Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Korg USB-MIDI Driver issues

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gargamel314
Platinum Member


Joined: 25 Dec 2007
Posts: 1104
Location: Carneys Point, NJ

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:54 pm    Post subject: Korg USB-MIDI Driver issues Reply with quote

I am running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, and having an on-going problem with the USB-MIDI Driver. When I start up the computer, though my Kronos is plugged in and powered on, my PC doesn't recognize it's connected unless I unplug and plug back in my Kronos. Then it works fine. Just annoying when I start my DAW, and find that there's no MIDI port, and then have to close the DAW and restart it. Anyone have any fix for this? The driver is up to date, and I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling a couple times.
_________________
Korg Kronos-61, 01/Wfd, M3, SONAR Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
19naia
Platinum Member


Joined: 29 Nov 2012
Posts: 631

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 3:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have slight similar issue with iPad apps via midi and controlled by Kronos. Even with korg apps.
I have to unplug and replug the audio out/headphones input to get the sound flowing.
That is easy compared to having to add an external hardware audio/midi interface to solve issues with laptops or desk tops.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pedro5
Platinum Member


Joined: 06 Oct 2011
Posts: 1063
Location: Coventry UK.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nothing really wrong....there's no fix,just a change of routine,perhaps.

It's common practice to boot the computer first,then the Kronos.
(This is how to correctly install the Korg midi driver,anyway).

Unplugging then re plugging the usb connection is virtually forcing the pc to do a search for attached peripherals.
Closing and opening a daw does something similar,but can be unreliable.

Another scenario would be if there's a need to re boot the Kronos mid session,the daw would also need opening again or even a computer re boot as well.

Hope this helps.

Best Wishes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gargamel314
Platinum Member


Joined: 25 Dec 2007
Posts: 1104
Location: Carneys Point, NJ

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pedro5 wrote:
Nothing really wrong....there's no fix,just a change of routine,perhaps.

It's common practice to boot the computer first,then the Kronos.
(This is how to correctly install the Korg midi driver,anyway).



Tried this a few times. I waited until Windows 10 was fully booted, then booted the Kronos. Device manager shows no mention of the Kronos. It never recognizes it until I unplug and reconnect the USB cable. Is this a common problem in Windows 10 or is it just me?
_________________
Korg Kronos-61, 01/Wfd, M3, SONAR Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danmusician
Platinum Member


Joined: 08 Apr 2009
Posts: 762
Location: Southern PA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 3:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gargamel314 wrote:
pedro5 wrote:
Nothing really wrong....there's no fix,just a change of routine,perhaps.

It's common practice to boot the computer first,then the Kronos.
(This is how to correctly install the Korg midi driver,anyway).



Tried this a few times. I waited until Windows 10 was fully booted, then booted the Kronos. Device manager shows no mention of the Kronos. It never recognizes it until I unplug and reconnect the USB cable. Is this a common problem in Windows 10 or is it just me?


I've had the same issue in MacOS for years. The Kronos doesn't show up until I disconnect and reconnect it. It's a pain, I just got used to doing it.
_________________
Kronos 2 61, Kronos Classic 73, PX-5S, Roli Seaboard Rise 49, MOTU Mach 5, Authorized Steinway, Real Guitar, MOTU 896HD, MOTU 828, Zoom H6, Zoom R24, Digital Performer, Finale, GarageBand, Band-in-a-Box with Real Tracks, iPad Pro, former owner of Korg M3, Bose L1 Classic, Bose L1 Model II, Bose L1 Compact
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pedro5
Platinum Member


Joined: 06 Oct 2011
Posts: 1063
Location: Coventry UK.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 1:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm wondering if this is related to the midi device limits in windows....

There have been posts about this in various places,including on this forum.
I can't locate any at the moment...perhaps a topic or google search may find some.

Regarding the mac...
Try a another usb cable and/or in a different usb port.

Also,checks can be made at several places.
System Preferences.
System Information.app.
Audio midi Set Up.

These may provide some useful information.

Best Wishes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group