Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Exporting Programs from M3 to Kronos

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Moecito



Joined: 08 Jan 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:47 am    Post subject: Exporting Programs from M3 to Kronos Reply with quote

Hi!
I'm having a problem and I'm not sure how to solve it, or if it's even possible to do it. I own a Korg M3, which I use mostly for studio purposes. For live performance I have a Kronos.

I'm preparing a live show and there are two sounds in M3 that aren't in Kronos and that are extremely important as their sound is really unique.

I want to export the sound from the M3 to Kronos to be able to play with it live, and not have to take the M3 on tour just because of two sounds. I don't want to use the sampler, if possible, as I have fought with it for years, and it became a PITA.

Is it possible to export a sound from one keyboard to another? In that case, how do I do it?

Thanks a lot in advance Very Happy
_________________
- KORG Kronos 61 - KORG M3r
Visit www.persefone.com!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sharp
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jan 2002
Posts: 17772
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your not preprepared to use the Sampler, then you have to recreate the sounds manually on the KRONOS as there's no other way to convert them.

Regards
Sharp.
_________________
KORG Store - Irish Acts Irish Acts Online Store
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Moecito



Joined: 08 Jan 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sharp wrote:
If your not preprepared to use the Sampler, then you have to recreate the sounds manually on the KRONOS as there's no other way to convert them.

Regards
Sharp.


Ok! Every time I've tried to use the sampler, I've gotten stuck with problems of sounds not loading properly, or not saving, or not loading in the place I asked initially... Is there any good tutorial on how to sample sounds properly?

Thanks! Very Happy
_________________
- KORG Kronos 61 - KORG M3r
Visit www.persefone.com!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sharp
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jan 2002
Posts: 17772
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are open to using the sampler you have a few options.

Do never said if the based on external samples your loading into your M3, or if it based on factory samples, or if it's based on the Radias board.

So......

If it's based on factory data, you can either recreate the PCG programming on the KRONOS, or resample the entire sound.

If it's based on the Radias board, then chances are resampling will be your only option as reprogramming the same sound into the KRONOS manually wouldn't be easy.

If it's based on external samples, the KRONOS will load the sample data directly, and you will have to manually just reproduce the PCG programming. Or, you could just resample the entire sound.

Either way, anything that involves resampling requires you know how to use the sampler, loop sounds, create multisamples, and so on.

Easy when you know how, but there's a lot to learn when you don't know how. It's all in the manual either way.

Regards
Sharp.
_________________
KORG Store - Irish Acts Irish Acts Online Store
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Moecito



Joined: 08 Jan 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sharp wrote:
If you are open to using the sampler you have a few options.

Do never said if the based on external samples your loading into your M3, or if it based on factory samples, or if it's based on the Radias board.

So......

If it's based on factory data, you can either recreate the PCG programming on the KRONOS, or resample the entire sound.

If it's based on the Radias board, then chances are resampling will be your only option as reprogramming the same sound into the KRONOS manually wouldn't be easy.

If it's based on external samples, the KRONOS will load the sample data directly, and you will have to manually just reproduce the PCG programming. Or, you could just resample the entire sound.

Either way, anything that involves resampling requires you know how to use the sampler, loop sounds, create multisamples, and so on.

Easy when you know how, but there's a lot to learn when you don't know how. It's all in the manual either way.

Regards
Sharp.


hahaha this answer makes me have more questions hahaha I'm afraid there are a lot of stuff I don't know about the working processes of programs in Kronos/M3. The sound I want to put in Kronos comes from the M3, but I don't really know if it's a factory sound or if it's based on the radias board. I did remember looking on the OSC for the basic sample on that sound, and I couldn't find the same on Kronos (I assumed that if the basic sample is in Kronos I could reproduce the whole programming and make it sound, at least, similar). But I had no luck.

I guess that if I create a multisample from that sound and apply it to the PCG programming of that sound, I will get the something similar to the original one?

Maybe I haven't understood a thing, but basically I'm trying to avoid having to go to the huge manual and try to understand it, but I guess that I won't have many options...
_________________
- KORG Kronos 61 - KORG M3r
Visit www.persefone.com!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Lightbringer
Junior Member


Joined: 07 Jan 2018
Posts: 84
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since I’m new to the Kronos, I have been watching pretty much every YouTube video I can find about it. These two videos made by forum members here might help you demystify sampling and creating a program from the samples. They were helpful for me.

https://youtu.be/nURLCUGAzTw

https://youtu.be/OurA3eeaxxA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moecito



Joined: 08 Jan 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lightbringer wrote:
Since I’m new to the Kronos, I have been watching pretty much every YouTube video I can find about it. These two videos made by forum members here might help you demystify sampling and creating a program from the samples. They were helpful for me.

https://youtu.be/nURLCUGAzTw

https://youtu.be/OurA3eeaxxA


Thanks guys for the responses. I'll check the videos and try to figure out how to bring those sounds into Kronos Very Happy
_________________
- KORG Kronos 61 - KORG M3r
Visit www.persefone.com!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
StephenKay
KARMA Developer
Approved Merchant
KARMA Developer<br>Approved Merchant


Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Posts: 2747
Location: Scottsdale, AZ

PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2018 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
The sound I want to put in Kronos comes from the M3, but I don't really know if it's a factory sound or if it's based on the radias board. I did remember looking on the OSC for the basic sample on that sound, and I couldn't find the same on Kronos (I assumed that if the basic sample is in Kronos I could reproduce the whole programming and make it sound, at least, similar). But I had no luck.

So what's the name and location of the sound?
_________________
Stephen Kay - KARMA DeveloperKarma-Lab - karma-lab.com

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gargamel314
Platinum Member


Joined: 25 Dec 2007
Posts: 1117
Location: Carneys Point, NJ

PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2018 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been porting programs from the M3 to the Kronos. I think the M3's Guitar programs are actually better, so I've ported over a number of them.

What I've found works best is using the Kronos Editor and copying the program parameter-by-parameter. I wish there was a more automated way to do it, but there isn't. It takes about 60-90 minutes per program. At least all of the parameters line up, so you don't have to do any guesswork.
_________________
Korg Kronos-61, 01/Wfd, SONAR Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moecito



Joined: 08 Jan 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

StephenKay wrote:
Quote:
The sound I want to put in Kronos comes from the M3, but I don't really know if it's a factory sound or if it's based on the radias board. I did remember looking on the OSC for the basic sample on that sound, and I couldn't find the same on Kronos (I assumed that if the basic sample is in Kronos I could reproduce the whole programming and make it sound, at least, similar). But I had no luck.

So what's the name and location of the sound?


The programs in particular that I need to put in Kronos from M3 are:
INT C118 - Monk's Legato Joystick
INT D007 - Spectrum Powder

I'm trying with the videos recommended before and using the Sampler. I think I've been using the sampler wrong all this time, and maybe it's a good chance to make a good use of it.
_________________
- KORG Kronos 61 - KORG M3r
Visit www.persefone.com!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group