Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Krome and Nanopad2?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Krome
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
EMORK



Joined: 15 Dec 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 7:05 am    Post subject: Krome and Nanopad2? Reply with quote

Hi folks,

the most important things i miss on the Krome are the Chord Trigger Knobs from the M50.
On Youtube i saw someone connecting the Nanopad2 to a Kronos via USB Port and using it as a chord trigger Pad, which worked perfect.

Has anyone tried that on the Krome? Didn't find anything on the web...
_________________
current gear:
Korg Krome 61 Platinum, Kurzweil PC3, Korg Radias, Korg M50, Casio XW-G1 and lots of VST-Stuff on Notebook.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cykorg



Joined: 15 Apr 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have this same querry. Want to try this also on m50 hope they have the same control assignment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voip
Platinum Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2014
Posts: 1610

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a curious thing that the Krome owner's manual specifically mentions the Krome's chord trigger switches several times, yet said switches are not present on the Krome. The relevant phrases are likely to have been copied and pasted from the M50 user manual.

The nanoPAD2 works with the Kronos because: a) the Kronos can act as a USB host, and has the appropriate USB-A connectors on the rear and b) the Kronos firmware detects when a nanoPAD2 is connected, and maps the nanoPAD2 pads appropriately to the chords assigned to a Program or Combi.

Neither the Krome nor the M50 will work with the nanoPAD2 as they cannot act as USB hosts.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cykorg



Joined: 15 Apr 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

voip wrote:
It's a curious thing that the Krome owner's manual specifically mentions the Krome's chord trigger switches several times, yet said switches are not present on the Krome. The relevant phrases are likely to have been copied and pasted from the M50 user manual.

The nanoPAD2 works with the Kronos because: a) the Kronos can act as a USB host, and has the appropriate USB-A connectors on the rear and b) the Kronos firmware detects when a nanoPAD2 is connected, and maps the nanoPAD2 pads appropriately to the chords assigned to a Program or Combi.

Neither the Krome nor the M50 will work with the nanoPAD2 as they cannot act as USB hosts.

.



Thank you voip for making it clear.

So how about a midi pad controller? Can it act as anexternal chord trigger?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voip
Platinum Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2014
Posts: 1610

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Krome doesn't appear to have any way, either in hardware, firmware, or in the software editor, to define and play chords using a single trigger event, so using an external MIDI trigger is not going to work, unfortunately.

The Korg Triton Taktile can play chords and appears to have a MIDI out, although the user manual labels it as MIDI in. Some images show MIDI in and MIDI out, so it is possible it may be pressed into service.

There's also KordsKontrol software, that works with the Korg PadKontrol and offers some interesting possibilities:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVgzqnpfqoM

It may be possible to send the chord as MIDI notes out from the PC to the Krome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gee man



Joined: 14 Mar 2012
Posts: 11
Location: belfast

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can the M3 use naopad2 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Krome All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group