Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Which usb -> ethernet adapter do you use?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ChrisDuncan
Junior Member


Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 4:58 am    Post subject: Which usb -> ethernet adapter do you use? Reply with quote

[edit]
I just realized that I wasn't very clear in my question since the adapter can be used in two scenarios, the Kronos and the computer.

I'm looking for usage info about USB -> Ethernet adapters plugged into the Kronos itself (so that I can then just grab an ethernet cable and plug the Kronos into the network), not the laptop / computer you're using.
[/edit]

I'm specifically hoping to get info from those who have purchased a Kronos in the past year or so, i.e. OS 3.1.

The recommended Trendnet doesn't work, but the manual is referencing adapters as of 2012, so I'm thinking maybe Trendnet has updated their device so that it doesn't work with the drivers in Kronos 3.1.

Anyone purchase an adapter recently that works on 3.1? Would be grateful for any recommendations.

Thanks,

Chris
_________________
Studio A: Cubase 9.0.10 Build 150 64 bit | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Studio B: Cubase 9.0.10 Build 150 64 bit | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 44 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH | Kronos 88
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth


Last edited by ChrisDuncan on Mon May 21, 2018 12:27 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDuncan
Junior Member


Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Below is the list of supported adapters per the manual. It was written in 2012, and with the exception of the TrendNet (which doesn't work), I can't find any of these on Amazon because they're obsolete.

Surely I'm not the only person with a new Kronos who's trying to connect to ethernet. Has anyone been able to buy a new adapter that's worked for 3.1?

Apple MC704ZM/A
CISCO Linksys USB300M
TRENDnet TU-ET100C
BUFFALO LUA3-U2-ATX
BUFFALO LUA-U2-KTX
BUFFALO LUA3-U2-AGT
Planex UE-100TX-G3
Logitec LAN-TX/U2B Logitec LAN-TX/U2H3
I-O DATA ETX3-US2
Logitec LAN-TX/U2H3
I-O DATA ETX3-US2
_________________
Studio A: Cubase 9.0.10 Build 150 64 bit | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Studio B: Cubase 9.0.10 Build 150 64 bit | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 44 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH | Kronos 88
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Derek Cook
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 20 Jul 2014
Posts: 1022
Location: Wales, UK

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 6:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not bought recently, but the Apple adapter works fine on the latest OS with my Kronos X 61
_________________
Derek Cook - Java Developer



Follow kronos.factory development over at the kronos.factory Trello Board

My Echoes Music Website
My Carreg Ddu Music Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ChrisDuncan
Junior Member


Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Derek Cook wrote:
Not bought recently, but the Apple adapter works fine on the latest OS with my Kronos X 61

Thanks, Derek.

Like the other adapters listed in the 2012 manual, this one seems to no longer be available.
_________________
Studio A: Cubase 9.0.10 Build 150 64 bit | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Studio B: Cubase 9.0.10 Build 150 64 bit | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 44 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH | Kronos 88
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Derek Cook
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 20 Jul 2014
Posts: 1022
Location: Wales, UK

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I quickly goggled this adapter and found three places in UK selling it who indicated stock.
_________________
Derek Cook - Java Developer



Follow kronos.factory development over at the kronos.factory Trello Board

My Echoes Music Website
My Carreg Ddu Music Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ChrisDuncan
Junior Member


Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, man. I'm in the US and didn't search beyond Amazon as I'm not sure I want to invest in discontinued products. However, it sounds like that's the only way to get USB -> ethernet support. I'm guessing that the folks who have this working bought their stuff years ago.

Between the USB midi driver not working and no USB ethernet support, it looks like I just spent enough money to buy a used car only to find that moving files requires sneaker net. That's not a show stopper as I love the keyboard, but it is a bit disappointing to see the level of support they're giving to a flagship product.

Nonetheless, I do appreciate you taking the time to help.
_________________
Studio A: Cubase 9.0.10 Build 150 64 bit | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Studio B: Cubase 9.0.10 Build 150 64 bit | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 44 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH | Kronos 88
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankWahl



Joined: 09 Aug 2009
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2018 12:20 pm    Post subject: Which usb -> ethernet adapter do you use? Reply with quote

Hi all,

I use the D-Link DUB-100 (directly) connected to my Windows 10 64Bit DELL Laptop and FileZilla.
Works fine.

Best regards
Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDuncan
Junior Member


Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2018 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, Frank.

Is the D-Link plugged in to your Kronos or to your Windows laptop?

I'm trying to find an adapter to plug into the Kronos and I notice the D-Link isn't on the supported list in the manual.
_________________
Studio A: Cubase 9.0.10 Build 150 64 bit | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Studio B: Cubase 9.0.10 Build 150 64 bit | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 44 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH | Kronos 88
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankWahl



Joined: 09 Aug 2009
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2018 1:07 pm    Post subject: Which usb -> ethernet adapter do you use? Reply with quote

Hi Chris,

it's connected this way:
D-Link box to USB-A-port on Kronos --> Ethernet-Cable --> Laptop Ethernet-port
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDuncan
Junior Member


Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2018 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I only looked at the adapters listed in the manual and couldn't find anything but the Trendnet that was still available. I'll give the D-Link a try since it's working for you.

Thanks!
_________________
Studio A: Cubase 9.0.10 Build 150 64 bit | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Studio B: Cubase 9.0.10 Build 150 64 bit | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 44 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH | Kronos 88
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankWahl



Joined: 09 Aug 2009
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2018 1:14 pm    Post subject: Which usb -> ethernet adapter do you use? Reply with quote

It's the silver one, as you can see here:
https://www.elektroradar.de/fast-ethernet-adapter-dub-e100.html?gclid=Cj0KCQjw3InYBRCLARIsAG6bfMTqPKW-QIuZbeLjeASAeiKN1UARj1UWznKzLXx_cDWCcmd0fkzmGJEaAvCaEALw_wcB

not the small black one
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDuncan
Junior Member


Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2018 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm. I'm in the US and what's available to me looks entirely different:

http://us.dlink.com/products/accessories/high-speed-usb-2-0-fast-ethernet-adapter/

How long ago did you buy yours?

[edit]
Even though it doesn't look anything like yours I figure for 15 bucks I'll give it a try. Worst case scenario I return it.

Thanks for helping on this. The fact that a D-Link works even though it's not on their supported devices list gives me hope.
[/edit]
_________________
Studio A: Cubase 9.0.10 Build 150 64 bit | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Studio B: Cubase 9.0.10 Build 150 64 bit | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 44 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH | Kronos 88
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDuncan
Junior Member


Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 8:40 pm    Post subject: Re: Which usb -> ethernet adapter do you use? Reply with quote

FrankWahl wrote:
It's the silver one, as you can see here:
https://www.elektroradar.de/fast-ethernet-adapter-dub-e100.html?gclid=Cj0KCQjw3InYBRCLARIsAG6bfMTqPKW-QIuZbeLjeASAeiKN1UARj1UWznKzLXx_cDWCcmd0fkzmGJEaAvCaEALw_wcB

not the small black one

Hey, Frank.

The small black one is all that's available in the US, so I gave it a try. No joy, but it was worth the attempt.

Appreciate the help just the same.
_________________
Studio A: Cubase 9.0.10 Build 150 64 bit | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Studio B: Cubase 9.0.10 Build 150 64 bit | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 44 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH | Kronos 88
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group