Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Sync 2 SQ-1s Together

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Sequencers / Audio recording packages.
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mikey S



Joined: 12 May 2017
Posts: 19
Location: Santa Fe

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 5:43 pm    Post subject: Sync 2 SQ-1s Together Reply with quote

I'm thinking of buying a 2nd SQ-1 sequencer, and am wondering whether I can sync them together at different rates, for instance by setting one globally for 1/4 notes, and the other for 1/16 notes. Will they sync at different rates, or will they default to the rate of one or the other?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
slug
Senior Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2007
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 3:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can use the same input sync and select different output resolutions for each unit in the global settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mikey S



Joined: 12 May 2017
Posts: 19
Location: Santa Fe

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the response. When I sync from an external source to my SQ-1, the note type cannot be changed. Always at 1/16 note, if I remember correctly, but maybe it's 1/8 note.. Have you actually hooked two SQ-1s up in this way? I'm just trying to avoid buying and then returning one!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mikey S



Joined: 12 May 2017
Posts: 19
Location: Santa Fe

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK....just found this:

How step resolution behaves:
The above tester also looked at how the sequencer step resolution behaves when you change the global parameter settings.
A/B, A->B, parallel reversing direction (1-3). The SQ-1 responds to external clock. But its sync out will change as you change modes – 4x, 2x, 1x – so it acts as a clock divider.
Parallel, CV DUTY, CV DUTY RANDOM, CV DUTY RANDOM, CV SLIDE (4-Cool. In these modes, the SQ-1 clocks at half tempo to an external source. Here again, sync out from the SQ-1 changes at 4x, 2x, 1x.
In modes 7 or 8, there’s another twist. As KORG tells us: “When you save the Global parameter, SEQUENCER MODE should be set to Mode 7 or 8 If you don’t want to change the STEP resolution.” (Chris had assumed modes 7 or 8 didn’t work.)

Looks like the sync out of the first SQ-1 will run the second one at any of three different speeds, if I read this correctly. Guess I'll give it a try. Really too bad that the documentation/manual for this is so skimpy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
slug
Senior Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2007
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes i agree the globals are a mess and Korg should have printed them on the unit, I find it virtually impossible to remember what each of the global LEDs represent without consulting the manual.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Sequencers / Audio recording packages. All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group