Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Transpose on Kronos
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
scottify



Joined: 15 Oct 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 5:22 pm    Post subject: Can you save the transpose to a program? Reply with quote

Our church bought a Kronos-88. Its a bit much for our pianist, so I'm trying to help with a few items. One is transpose.

She typically uses the German Grand setting. Is it possible to save the German Grand in different keys and save them as individual patches on the main program screen? (Hoping I asked that right)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Qtipcore
Full Member


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 123
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@scottify:

Yes.. But I would use the set-list feature.
And you could also name the slots accordingly.
That way, you could reuse the same program, but with different transposition.

It´s much faster than transposing in global.
And it`s also much more flexible than saving programs tranposed.
_________________
Pramberger JP185, Kronos 88, Nord Stage 3 Compact, Legacy Collections, Kore 2, Maschine MK3/JAM, Komplete 9, V Collection 4 ,QU-SB, GIO, TD11KV, Live 9, Logic X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scottify



Joined: 15 Oct 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Qtipcore wrote:
@scottify:

Yes.. But I would use the set-list feature.
And you could also name the slots accordingly.
That way, you could reuse the same program, but with different transposition.

It´s much faster than transposing in global.
And it`s also much more flexible than saving programs tranposed.


Holy moley, that looks like it will make it tremendously easy. Thanks so much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danmusician
Platinum Member


Joined: 08 Apr 2009
Posts: 806
Location: Southern PA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 4:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use the Set List feature for Transpose most of the time.

However, from the German Grand display in Program Mode, you can tap on the piano photo in the screen and on the right side of the display is a Transpose field. You can tap that and direct dial the steps that you want (hit the "minus" key for transposing down.)

I've used it on the fly when I need to transpose for a song that I didn't plan in advance.
_________________
Kronos 2 88, Kronos Classic 73, PX-5S, Kronos 2 61, Roli Seaboard Rise 49, MOTU Mach 5, Authorized Steinway, Real Guitar, MOTU 896HD, Digital Performer, Band-in-a-Box with Real Tracks, iPad Pro, Bose L1 Model II, Bose L1 Compact
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
karmathanever
Platinum Member


Joined: 12 Jan 2004
Posts: 7940
Location: Australia (Oz !!)

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Probably doesn't suit all situations but I get around this simply using SET-LIST entries
I guess if you want to transpose several times during a song then it's a little more involved but you could still have a few identical SET-LIST entries with just the transpose setting changed.

But, I agree, dedicated transpose buttons like PA-series, Yamaha, Roland, and Casio would be great.

Cheers

Pete Very Happy

EDIT: - sorry - this was just mentioned above Embarassed Brick wall
_________________
------------------------------------------------------------------
Korg:------- PA4X-76, Kronos-61, WaveDrum Global Edition
Roland:---- Integra-7
Casio:------ MZ-X500
------------------------------------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stevewahl



Joined: 03 May 2017
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't remember if I've posted this before, but as long as we're talking about transpose...

Does anyone else ever wish that the transposition happened after splitting the notes between timbres? If I've learned a song, set up the keyboard with splits for this song, and then have to use the transpose function to accommodate someone else (singers, usually), the split points move along with the transposition, and the split happens at the same pitch it used to, rather than at the same point on the keyboard. IMHO, this makes the transpose button in the setlist pretty much useless for splits.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geoelectro
Platinum Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2012
Posts: 934
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stevewahl wrote:
I can't remember if I've posted this before, but as long as we're talking about transpose...

Does anyone else ever wish that the transposition happened after splitting the notes between timbres? If I've learned a song, set up the keyboard with splits for this song, and then have to use the transpose function to accommodate someone else (singers, usually), the split points move along with the transposition, and the split happens at the same pitch it used to, rather than at the same point on the keyboard. IMHO, this makes the transpose button in the setlist pretty much useless for splits.

Transposing in Global DOES move the split points. Transposing in SetList DOES NOT.

Geo
_________________
Kronos 61 : 3GB RAM 120GB 2nd Drv.
Kronos 2 61
N.I. Komplete 11, Omnisphere 2, VB-3.
HP i7 8GB Win 10
Yamaha P-80 Weighted Keyboard. NanoPad2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group