Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Control Karma Scenes via midi

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Paul999



Joined: 09 Nov 2018
Posts: 5
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:10 am    Post subject: Control Karma Scenes via midi Reply with quote

Hi I want to turn karma scenes on and off from my nanopad2. I can see under global i can set scene change by entering cc30 under midi cc assign. So I can turn scene 1 on by sending cc30. I cant see where i enable the kronos to receive CC31, cc32, cc33 etc for scenes 2,3,4 etc. I have tried just sending cc31 from the nanopdad but kronus does not respond. Can someone advise what i have missed. Thankyou.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CharlesFerraro
Platinum Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 803
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Paul, welcome to Korgforums.

The value of CC30 chooses the KARMA scene.
A value of 0 will choose scene 1, a value of 1 will choose scene 2, a value of 2 will choose scene 3 etc. All the way up to a value of 7 for scene 8. It's easy to remember that MIDI starts counting at zero.

CC31 turns KARMA's latch function on and off. CC31 values 0-63 turn latch off while values 64-127 turn latch on.
_________________
paypal.me/CharlesFerraro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Paul999



Joined: 09 Nov 2018
Posts: 5
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi thank you for your response. So what is the exact format to select say karma scene 2 from say the nanopad 2. Sorry if this is a basic question. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CharlesFerraro
Platinum Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 803
Location: California

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't use a nanopad2 so I'm not sure. I could read the manual for you but... ehhh you know. Not gonna take the time to do that rn. Would be a really easy question to answer though. You were able to program a pad to send CC30, so can you program a pad to send CC30 with a value of 0 or 7? Does it send a value depending on how hard you hit the pad (velocity)? Is there a fixed velocity mode per pad? Maybe pads only act as switches so a pad sends a CC value of 127 when triggered and rests at value 0. I really don't know, but your answer is only a few page turns away. If you can't figure it out after ten minutes of reading then maybe I'll take a look at the nanopad2 manual to see what's up.
_________________
paypal.me/CharlesFerraro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
mikelees
Junior Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2012
Posts: 56
Location: Chelmsford, UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

On the nanoPad2, the top 8 pads are always mapped to the 8 Kronos chord pads. Kronos ignores the nanoPad settings for the top 8 pads, except toggle.

If you set up pads to send CC30 values, then it will need to be one of the lower 8 pads.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robertaramar



Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:38 am    Post subject: Are you sure on CC30? Reply with quote

Hi,

I just checked switching KARMA scenes on my Kronos and it does NOT work with CC30 but it DOES work with CC85.

Also, wenn I monitor the MIDI commands that the KRONOS issues when switching KARMA scenes with its buttons, it will issue CC85.

Regards,

Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paul999



Joined: 09 Nov 2018
Posts: 5
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, i think maybe this is a nanopad constraint. I cant see where the nanopad will allow the additional parameters to be added to the cc30 to select required scene. I can assign just cc1 to 127 per pad. Unless i am missing something. No big deal as i can use buttons on the kronos, just pads would have been easier to hit gigging.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voip
Platinum Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2014
Posts: 1638

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The X-Y pad on the nanoPAD2 sends CC# messages having parameter values that change with the finger position on the pad, but the individual pads themselves only send fixed CC#.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paul999



Joined: 09 Nov 2018
Posts: 5
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi yes, thanks i can see that now. So a different pad or will stick with kronos keys. Thanks for comments.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 7040
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Paul999 wrote:
Hi, i think maybe this is a nanopad constraint. I cant see where the nanopad will allow the additional parameters to be added to the cc30 to select required scene. I can assign just cc1 to 127 per pad. Unless i am missing something. No big deal as i can use buttons on the kronos, just pads would have been easier to hit gigging.


I use a foot switch
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Paul999



Joined: 09 Nov 2018
Posts: 5
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. May be the way to go. Which foot switch do you use?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 7040
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Paul999 wrote:
Thanks. May be the way to go. Which foot switch do you use?


https://www.roland.com/global/products/fs-5u_5l/
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group