Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Kronos using Ipad/Apps and midi controller

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
siwaj11



Joined: 05 Apr 2015
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 8:45 am    Post subject: Kronos using Ipad/Apps and midi controller Reply with quote

Hello Everyone

Just wanted to Connect my Ipad (using apps like Sample Tank, Korg M1 ect) and midi keyboard controller (K 49 Series) into my Korg kronos.

I am aware that I can hook up my Ipad directly to my midi keyboard controller. that I already did and it was working perfectly.

I hooked up my ipad via usb to my kronos and hooked up my midi keyboard controller via midi cable. everything is perfectly working.

Remote Kronos, Korg M1, Smple Tank, Korg Module apps from my Ipad is working on my kronos.

Midi keyboard controller is also working.

Assigning dedicated midi channel from my kronos and match the midi channel of my midi controller is perfectly working.

since I have 1 Ipad and I don't want to connect/disconnect every time I wanted to play the Ipad app (sample tank or korg M1 app ect) using my midi controller.

My question is how to make my midi controller control my ipad ( ipad apps) while both are connected to the Kronos via midi cable/usb works?

As I tried assigning 1 track from Combi mode in Timber Paramater tab assign as EXT and Midi Channel is assigned in ch 2.

I have assigned my K 49 Seris Midi Keyboard controller in mid ch 2
unfortunately it's not working.

did I mis some configuration? or my goal is not possible.


thank you in advance.



Gear: Korg Kronos, Korg K 49 Series, Korg Nanopad, KRK Rokit 8, MacPro, LogicPro, Reason 4, Sennheiser Microphone, Shure SLX, Behringer X32
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
19naia
Platinum Member


Joined: 29 Nov 2012
Posts: 1077

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kronos is not able to manage passing messages between devices across Midi 5-pin cables and the USB cable.
Messages get to kronos via USB and regualar 5-pin midi, but not passed along from regular midi to USB or from USB to regular midi.

It may be possible if you use a Midi to USB converter. Where you use 5-pin midi cable and have that converted to USB midi signal over USB to iPad.
And ideally to have the converter also convert the USB midi to regular 5-pin midi signal.

Also, a USB midi converter could ruin your USB audio option. Unless there is a real wizard of a USB midi converter out there, that can do it all and give you hub style connectivity for both audio and midi signals.
Kronos cannot do any of this and i think it may be because the audio and midi signals use the same USB cable and it gets too complicated trying to get it to be flexible enough for what you want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
siwaj11



Joined: 05 Apr 2015
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you 19naia for your reply.

I actually think of it's complexity between midi and usb cable.

Just a thought, perhaps if I'm going to use USB cable from my K 49 series midi controller connect to my kronos and the same way from Ipad to kronos,

is there any possibilities to make it work as I am using USB for both devices. what do you think?

Many thanks Very Happy

Gear: Korg Kronos, Korg K 49 Series, Korg Nanopad, KRK Rokit 8, MacPro, LogicPro, Reason 4, Sennheiser Microphone, Shure SLX, Behringer X32
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
siwaj11



Joined: 05 Apr 2015
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 6:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank geoelectro for your reply. I have paste your reply on the below for future reference. Apology for my double post on this forum. I will delete my other post.

geoelectro
Platinum Member


I believe you are trying to send MIDI into the Kronos and have that data exit the Kronos on a USB port to your iPad, correct?

If so, Kronos will not do that. Any MIDI in (MIDI port or USB) will not be present on any MIDI or USB port. (other than MIDI Thru from MIDI in)

This function is MIDI Merging and not available in the K.

Geo
_________________
Kronos 61 : 3GB RAM 120GB 2nd Drv.
Kronos 2 61
N.I. Komplete 11, Omnisphere 2, VB-3.
HP i7 8GB Win 10
Yamaha P-80 Weighted Keyboard. NanoPad2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group