Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

EXB-RADIAS boot-up in Korg M3

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg RADIAS / R3
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
aether



Joined: 09 Apr 2019
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:52 am    Post subject: EXB-RADIAS boot-up in Korg M3 Reply with quote

Hi,

I have a 256MB RAM and a RADIAS expansion board in my M3 Xpanded 73-key model.

It has a strange boot-up syndrome that is rather random: when turning power on, the M3 recognizes the memory expansion but sometimes not the RADIAS.

HOWEVER, this seems to be just a matter of trying 1-2 more times - once both expansion cards get listed in boot-up, it is then fine in later power cycling.

I suspected contact issue but that would not have this pattern and would be totally random or give up the ghost completely.

Any thoughts vastly appreciated, thank you!
_________________
Aether
_______ Korg M3, N5, Kronos2 LS, Yamaha FS1R, Roland JV1010, Waldorf Blofeld _________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iowagold
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 232
Location: in an alternate time line

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 3:35 am    Post subject: clean the contacts carefully Reply with quote

clean the contacts carefully
90% or better rubbing alcohol works..
then there is light silicone spray on a q tip to protect the contacts...

do not spray directly on the contacts and the plug sockets...
also make sure you replace the battery on the m3 unit...
and check those contacts as well...

if that does not do it...
back up the unit first if you have any patches you want to save!!!!
format the unit and reinstall the software...
catch all of the updates and software....

these are basic computers... if one line of code is off it will act this way on bootup.
these are not designed like the modern new (2018 up) computers that will detect and repair them selves on some boot issues...

if it is ok at the restore...
then re install the patches you have...
I suspect you have a bug in the patch files...
especially if they were share ware traded!!
lots of kill code out there right now!!
Part of the ransom ware virus stuff..

this is why most use apple gear in the studio's..
harder to write a virus bug for apple!!
_________________
my site klimaco.net
Current Gear: korg m3 expanded radias firewire 88 key Radias r on mat, korg radias r on mat on 61 key bed, Korg triton rack w 96mb ram scsi port, 4) korg RADIAS-R on big rack, korg kaossilator pro plus, 4) roland integra7, roland xv5050, 4 Roland sc55, 2 roland sb55, Roland MSQ-100, 2 emu proteus 2000 , Yamaha fs1r , 5) fostex 2016, behringer fx2000, 2) roland a800 pro, 2) roland a88 and 2) a49 3) m audio m88 and 1) m49, roland juno, Doepfer Dark Time, Doepfer MAQ 16/3, Manikin Electronic Schrittmacher, most soft synths. cake walk all old and new versions.
4 schecter guitars, 2 elevenracks, most mxr effects, 2 zoom r24, avid pro tools 11.
MRT midi Breath Controller. 4 studio rooms.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
iowagold
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 232
Location: in an alternate time line

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 3:35 am    Post subject: clean the contacts carefully Reply with quote

clean the contacts carefully
90% or better rubbing alcohol works..
then there is light silicone spray on a q tip to protect the contacts...

do not spray directly on the contacts and the plug sockets...
also make sure you replace the battery on the m3 unit...
and check those contacts as well...

if that does not do it...
back up the unit first if you have any patches you want to save!!!!
format the unit and reinstall the software...
catch all of the updates and software....

these are basic computers... if one line of code is off it will act this way on bootup.
these are not designed like the modern new (2018 up) computers that will detect and repair them selves on some boot issues...

if it is ok at the restore...
then re install the patches you have...
I suspect you have a bug in the patch files...
especially if they were share ware traded!!
lots of kill code out there right now!!
Part of the ransom ware virus stuff..

this is why most use apple gear in the studio's..
harder to write a virus bug for apple!!
_________________
my site klimaco.net
Current Gear: korg m3 expanded radias firewire 88 key Radias r on mat, korg radias r on mat on 61 key bed, Korg triton rack w 96mb ram scsi port, 4) korg RADIAS-R on big rack, korg kaossilator pro plus, 4) roland integra7, roland xv5050, 4 Roland sc55, 2 roland sb55, Roland MSQ-100, 2 emu proteus 2000 , Yamaha fs1r , 5) fostex 2016, behringer fx2000, 2) roland a800 pro, 2) roland a88 and 2) a49 3) m audio m88 and 1) m49, roland juno, Doepfer Dark Time, Doepfer MAQ 16/3, Manikin Electronic Schrittmacher, most soft synths. cake walk all old and new versions.
4 schecter guitars, 2 elevenracks, most mxr effects, 2 zoom r24, avid pro tools 11.
MRT midi Breath Controller. 4 studio rooms.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg RADIAS / R3 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group