Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

After 8 years storage, MS2000R worked 5 min then no sound?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg MS2000 & microKorg
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Rferraro



Joined: 03 Feb 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:03 pm    Post subject: After 8 years storage, MS2000R worked 5 min then no sound? Reply with quote

Worked about 5 minutes, there was a bit of a static noise, then all went silent. No sound output from out jacks including headphones. Looks like the version is 05. Everything on the front panel seems to work (all buttons and LEDs). I am able to navigate through all patches/banks, and as I do the appropriate LED lights switch including through the demo songs. When they switch, sometimes there is a static click. I noticed it takes 3 seconds to switch between programs, which seems longer than normal. The midi is set to Local/On. All pots are set to middle position. I opened the case and removed both boards. I traced every trace and soldier joint with a magnifier. No broken traces or cold soldier joints. Boards look to be in excellent condition, nothing burnt or otherwise suspicious. No smoke or burnt odor. I disconnected all connectors, spayed with Deoxit and assured they were tightly reconnected. I am using the stock power supply. None of the components get hot to the touch under power. I am not using any midi connections or external ins. I'm not using a pedal volume or switch. I did a factory reset and reloaded all 128 programs and Global settings to no avail. I assured the cord is working, and tried 2 different amps. Is there a hard reset procedure? I don't know what else to try. It would probably cost more to repair than replace. Can anyone help? Thanks...Rich
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voip
Platinum Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2014
Posts: 1985

PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The basic troubleshooting is thorough. The slowness to load patches might be something. Does the Tempo LED flash at 120bpm at the mid-setting of the Tempo knob? Is there any sound at the Master Volume control input pins when the MS2000R is played (not sure how easy this would be to do)? Also, if audio is applied to the input jacks, do the level indicators show anything? Are the internal power supplies at the correct levels?

Beyond this, specialist equipment and a good understanding of digital electronics would be needed to take this further.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rferraro



Joined: 03 Feb 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for responding voip! The tempo knob midway is spot on 120 bpm. I'm not sure of an appropriate audio source for the input levels. Could I use a drum machine audio out for the instrument level! I don't have a 1/4" adapter for any of my mics for the voice input, will the drum machine out also work for the purpose of a level for the audio voice in? Regarding the internal power supply voltage, my meter is broken, but I think I can borrow one. I'll wait until I do before I tear it apart again, then I can also check the signal from the master volume.

I ran both (auto and manual) internal test programs. Neither go any further than "DSP-DRAM check". I've done extensive web searches and sudden loss of audio seems to be quite common on the MS2000 units. I have the proper equipment to replace the DSP, but usually there are subsequent multiple damaged components involved, which I don't have the ability to check.

Its a shame because this unit has very little use on it and is in new condition, but good, honest repair techs are hard to find (no disrespect to repair techs, LOL). I've had multiple bad experiences with resident music store techs. I'm in the Pittsburgh PA area if anyone can recommend one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rferraro



Joined: 03 Feb 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for responding voip! The tempo knob midway is spot on 120 bpm. I'm not sure of an appropriate audio source for the input levels. Could I use a drum machine audio out for the instrument level? I don't have a 1/4" adapter for any of my mics for the voice input, will the drum machine out also work for the purpose of a level for the audio voice in? Regarding the internal power supply voltage, my meter is broken, but I think I can borrow one. I'll wait until I do before I tear it apart again, then I can also check the signal from the master volume.

I ran both (auto and manual) internal test programs. Neither go any further than "DSP-DRAM check". I've done extensive web searches and sudden loss of audio seems to be quite common on the MS2000 units. I have the proper equipment to replace the DSP, but usually there are subsequent multiple damaged components involved, which I don't have the ability to check.

Its a shame because this unit has very little use on it and is in new condition, but good, honest repair techs are hard to find (no disrespect to repair techs, LOL). I've had multiple bad experiences with resident music store techs. I'm in the Pittsburgh PA area if anyone can recommend one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voip
Platinum Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2014
Posts: 1985

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The tempo being spot on reduces the possibiity of the CPU clock being off frequency.

Drum machine audio should be OK as a signal source. It'll probably be at Line level, in which case set the input Gain switch to Line. Looking at the level LEDs is really just a crude check that the audio stages power supply is probably OK, though it could also be used, along with a scope probe on the codec serial data out, to check if that part of the codec is working. Looking at the serial data into the codec would also give some clues. If there are no data, but the codec and DSP are getting the correct clock, suspect the DSP.

Likewise, the results of checking for audio at the volume control will direct the troubleshooting to the audio output stages or towards the codec and DSP.

There's a thread here, which you may have seen already, that has focused on the DSP being a likely cause of no audio:

http://www.korgforums.com/forum/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=38291

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rferraro



Joined: 03 Feb 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just wanted to thank you for the link, lots of “nuggets” there. The LEDs are lighting with an inline source.

I don’t get any further than DSP-DRAM check with auto or manual testing.

For $9 from China, I went ahead and ordered a DSP chip. I may just have a computer repair shop do the install. Maybe I should also get a new dram chip installed at the same time. Hopefully the fail wasn’t caused by another component(s). The storage was an outdoor, uncontrolled temperature environment involving Pennsylvania weather conditions. Dumb move!

I appreciate your time and help!
Rich
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daniel-castilho



Joined: 06 May 2019
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2019 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have fixed 2 MS2000R these days, one had no sound and MPUTODSP check error, the other was very slow to change sounds, not responding very well, and also the MPUTODSP check error.

For the first, I replaced DSP (with hot air station, ordered the chip from China). It then indicated a problem in CODEC. Replaced CODEC and fixed the problem, working perfectly.

For the second I replaced DSP and CODEC and it started showing the DSP DRAM check error, Address 400000, making horrible distorted sounds. I checked the DSP with a magnifying glass and some pins (like 3 pins) had no solder on it (I did not solder them properly), so i put more solder on these pins and problem solved. Passed al the tests, working perfectly...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Rferraro



Joined: 03 Feb 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2019 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The DSP I ordered from China ended up being the size of a postage stamp. I specified the correct part number so I don’t know what’s up with that. So it sits!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blazing



Joined: 13 Sep 2019
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,
I have the same kind of problem.
very difficult to load a presets, so when preset is load, I have a correct sound with Flunger FX, but with Ensemble FX is totaly distorded, and with phaser FX there is 100% feedback delay (infitit loop).

I think The main DSP (IC18 on service manual) is partialy breakdown H8S/2320 :

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1PCS-D12320VF25IV-IC-H8S-2320-MCU-ROMLESS-128QFP-D12320-12320-D12320V-12320V-D12/192832482289?hash=item2ce5b62bf1:g:1CAAAOSwb2hcbPOK

there is a second DSP, maybe for FX job (flunger ensemble phaser delay), (IC17 DSP 56362).

before to unsoldering the DSP chips, I will try to verify pins contact.

I anyone know anything about this kind a breakdown, i'm aware.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg MS2000 & microKorg All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group