Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Power supply hum

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Triton Rack
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wilbur
Junior Member


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 86
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2019 9:24 am    Post subject: Power supply hum Reply with quote

Hi All,
Happy to be back on this forum again. I recently bought a Triton Rack as a replacement for my Triton Extreme for my live rig. I mainly use this as a sampling device and vocoder (Queen coverband hooray).

I noticed when introducing this piece of gear, a lot of hum was added to all my signals. I use balanced wherever possiblem, have a DI with ground lift to fix some other issues (eg ipad), but I can not get this issue solved. After thourough investigation, I noticed that the powersupply is magnetically influencing my passive DI, but also other gear.

- Did anybody encounter this too?
- Any idea how to solve this?
- Would it be smart to try another powersupply?
This one was mentioned on the forum too but has other properties: https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-AC-POWER-ADAPTER-for-Digitech-PS0920-4-Pin-DIN-/223184598644?oid=220820077602. Since the device is build-in in a rack, replacing it with a less heavy PSU would also be great.
_________________
Live Gear: Triton Rack, Kurzweil PC3K8, Waldorf Pulse Original, Lexicon MPX1, Behringer Xair, iConnectivity Midi4+, Palmer Pan 16

https://www.facebook.com/tobiasvanderhenstmusic/
https://www.facebook.com/Magnifico-Belgian-Queen-Experience-315448148558281/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Joe Gerardi
Platinum Member


Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 524
Location: Savannah, GA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2019 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Teach it the lyrics!

Razz

Sorry, I can't help you, but couldn't resist.

(In my defense, I was left unsupervised.)

..Joe
_________________
Current setup: Korg Kronos 61, Roland XV-88 Korg Triton-Rack, Motif-Rack, Korg N1r, Roland M-GS64, Alesis QSR, Yamaha KX88 & KX76, Roland Super-JX, Juno-Stage, Kawai K4, Kawai K1II.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voip
Platinum Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2014
Posts: 2015

PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2019 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Move the PSU, and any other PSUs away from the DI box, if possible.

Try running as much of the rig as possible from a single power outled, using a multiway adapter, to minimise ground loops.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wilbur
Junior Member


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 86
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2019 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

voip wrote:
Move the PSU, and any other PSUs away from the DI box, if possible.

Try running as much of the rig as possible from a single power outled, using a multiway adapter, to minimise ground loops.


Thanks! I will try to move my DI box further away from the PSU but my rack space is limited. I use a multiway adapter for the full rack already.
_________________
Live Gear: Triton Rack, Kurzweil PC3K8, Waldorf Pulse Original, Lexicon MPX1, Behringer Xair, iConnectivity Midi4+, Palmer Pan 16

https://www.facebook.com/tobiasvanderhenstmusic/
https://www.facebook.com/Magnifico-Belgian-Queen-Experience-315448148558281/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
stuartpryer
Senior Member


Joined: 10 Jan 2002
Posts: 304
Location: Cornwall - U.K.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2019 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, you may have an earth / ground loop. Normally you only want one of your instruments/mixer grounded at the power supply.

Cheers

Stuart
Www.stuartpryer.co.uk
Home of triton controller software
_________________
Stuart Pryer
Triton Controller and Fractal Sequencer Software
web site http://stuartpryer.co.uk
e-mail stuartpryer@gmail.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
stuartpryer
Senior Member


Joined: 10 Jan 2002
Posts: 304
Location: Cornwall - U.K.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2019 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, you may have an earth / ground loop. Normally you only want one of your instruments/mixer grounded at the power supply.

Cheers

Stuart
_________________
Stuart Pryer
Triton Controller and Fractal Sequencer Software
web site http://stuartpryer.co.uk
e-mail stuartpryer@gmail.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Triton Rack All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group