Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Replace main encoder?
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg RADIAS / R3
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
iowagold
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 252
Location: in an alternate time line

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 9:03 am    Post subject: there used to be a product called shield Reply with quote

there used to be a product called shield from channel master
good stuff to use after you used the de oxit.
and it would stay wet in the contacts..
a super thin silicone spray would help!!
any thing to keep the contacts from
corrosion again!!
_________________
my site klimaco.net
Current Gear: korg m3 expanded radias firewire 88 key Radias r on mat, korg radias r on mat on 61 key bed, Korg triton rack w 96mb ram scsi port, 4) korg RADIAS-R on big rack, korg kaossilator pro plus, 4) roland integra7, roland xv5050, 4 Roland sc55, 2 roland sb55, 5) fostex 2016, behringer fx2000, 2) roland a800 pro, 2) roland a88 and 2) a49 1) emu m49, roland juno, Doepfer MAQ 16/3, Manikin Electronic Schrittmacher, most soft synths. cake walk all old and new versions.
3 schecter guitars, 2 elevenracks, most mxr effects, 2 zoom r24, avid pro tools 11.
MRT midi Breath Controller. 4 studio rooms.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Nealster



Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 24
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2019 8:58 pm    Post subject: Replacing the encoder, how-to. Reply with quote

I've had the dreaded value encoder problem for a year. I could fix it temporarily by spraying it with electronic cleaner and wiggling it around, but the problem always came back.
Finally, I decided to man up and just replace the encoder.

Thanks a lot LiPI for posting your experiences in this thread, and thanks Timo for posting the "Inside the Radias" thread. It was really helpful to know what to expect when going in.

I didn't have much problem disassembling the Radias to get to the bottom board, it was easier than expected to take apart the boards and reassemble them as long as you keep track of which screws go where, there's a lot of different screws. As LiPi noted, the hard part was getting the old encoder loose. (More on this below)

Anyway, here is a quick step by step if anyone else needs to replace their encoder. If you decide to go for it, wear an anti-static wristband and make sure you don't overheat any nearby components.

1. Turn the Radias upside down. Use a couple of books under the rack ears so you don't damage the pots.
2. Remove all the screws (make sure to note down which screws go where as there is a lot of different ones).
3. Take off the bottom metal plate.
4. Disconnect and unscrew the long narrow circuit board with all the outputs.



5. Unscrew the smaller DSP circuit board and remove it carefully. The boards are connected tightly with a 50 pin connector (on the right here) and you definitely don't want to bend the pins on that one.



6. Unscrew the metal spacers, then remove all the screws that hold the big circuit board in place.



7. Carefully lift out the big circuit board. It's long and fragile so make sure you are careful when handling it or you might break it.

The encoder on the top right is what you're going to replace.



8. Here you can see the underside of the board. This is after I've removed the old encoder and soldered in the new one. These 5 solder points are what holds the encoder in place.



9. Here comes the hard part, getting the encoder loose. You have to desolder the three small pins and two big "grip" pins. If you don't get all the solder out, it's hard to pull the old encoder off. I had to cut a couple of the legs of the old encoder to be able to wiggle it free. (There is a product called ChipQuik which supposedly can help with desoldering multiple points, but it's not something I had available).

10. Clean up the solder points.
11. Mount and solder the new encoder.
12. Put everything back together. Be extra careful when putting the DSP circuit board back on, so you don't bend the pins on the 50-pin connector.

Good luck!
_________________
M3 | Kronos | Radias | Wavestation | Cubase 9.5
Khadavra - Spaced-out stuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iowagold
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 252
Location: in an alternate time line

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2019 9:33 pm    Post subject: radias encoder Reply with quote

radias encoder
a couple of things work well for double sided japan boards
and solder removal.
and worth waiting till you get them!!
NTE Electronics SW02-10 No-Clean Solder Wick, 4 Blue.098" Width, 10' Length
in the 10 foot small pack it runs retail at amazon 6.88 with prime.
there is also a longer pack of it!! that is what I stock here as it does not go bad with age.

and then a solder sucking iron.
US 30W Handheld Electric Tin Suction Sucker Pen Desoldering Pump Soldering Tool
search that on ebay
they also make an eu 220 volt version.
I keep spares of these!!

then the ultimate is a hako rework station..
but those are 500 usd and up!!

the big key is here DO NOT OVER HEAT THE BOARD!!
i cannot stress that enough!!
and do not force the parts out of the board!!
heat the pins add some solder to fresh up the connection
then sue the removal tool
or solder wick to remove the solder.
and remember this is a double sided board!!
you may have to do this 5-6 times to get a clean hole for easy removal!

I use cordless irons iso tip brand for rework...
and the solder wick..
less chance of static issues frying parts!!

but i have been doing this for 50 years!!
lots of practice!! lol!!

encoder replacement is the best solution!!
but can be pricy if you have a pro shop do it!!
but it is not a job for a first time project...
the units are way too pricy!!
find a seasoned friend to help you on the project!!
it is worth the case of beer!!
LOL!!
or steak dinner!!
_________________
my site klimaco.net
Current Gear: korg m3 expanded radias firewire 88 key Radias r on mat, korg radias r on mat on 61 key bed, Korg triton rack w 96mb ram scsi port, 4) korg RADIAS-R on big rack, korg kaossilator pro plus, 4) roland integra7, roland xv5050, 4 Roland sc55, 2 roland sb55, 5) fostex 2016, behringer fx2000, 2) roland a800 pro, 2) roland a88 and 2) a49 1) emu m49, roland juno, Doepfer MAQ 16/3, Manikin Electronic Schrittmacher, most soft synths. cake walk all old and new versions.
3 schecter guitars, 2 elevenracks, most mxr effects, 2 zoom r24, avid pro tools 11.
MRT midi Breath Controller. 4 studio rooms.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg RADIAS / R3 All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group