Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

MIDI instruction to change from PROG to COMBI

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Triton Rack
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The Killer



Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Location: South Wales

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 11:45 am    Post subject: MIDI instruction to change from PROG to COMBI Reply with quote

I've managed to send MIDI messages from my controller keyboard to switch between banks on the Rack (using Bank Map info, page 109 of Parameter Guide). However, I don't know how to send a message to switch from PROG to COMBI, so I have to do this manually on the Rack - not so great in a live performance! Can it be done via MIDI?

Many thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stuartpryer
Senior Member


Joined: 10 Jan 2002
Posts: 306
Location: Cornwall - U.K.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Yes it is possible - it is a sysex message which will change from prog to combi mode and another to return to program mode. It is documented in the midi spec for the triton/rack.

Cheers

Stuart

Home of Triton Controller / Oasys Companion http://myweb.tiscali.co.uk/pryer/
_________________
Stuart Pryer
Triton Controller and Fractal Sequencer Software
web site http://stuartpryer.co.uk
e-mail stuartpryer@gmail.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
The Killer



Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Location: South Wales

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for reply. It's encouraging to know it can be done - but I'm afraid my MIDI knowledge is sadly lacking. Are you able to expand any further e.g. what sort of message am I looking to send from my master keyboard (a Kawai MP4) and what numbers do I need to transmit to change between Prog/Comb/Multi banks? For instance, I've got as far as sending External Bank # MSB LSB to select a particular bank, and then External Prog # to select a voice within that bank. What I can't do is send an initial message to change from Prog to Comb.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dave
Senior Member


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Posts: 402
Location: Dublin, Ireland

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sysex messages for Triton-Rack Mode changes are as follows:

Combi:
F0 42 30 50 4E 00 F7

Prog:
F0 42 30 50 4E 02 F7

Multi:
F0 42 30 50 4E 04 F7

Sampling:
F0 42 30 50 4E 06 F7

Global:
F0 42 30 50 4E 07 F7

Disk:
F0 42 30 50 4E 08 F7

For Combis and Programs, follow these with bank and program select numbers. For Multis, follow with song selects (if you have multiple Multis already set up).

Kind regards.
_________________
Dave Bourke
- ideation -
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Killer



Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Location: South Wales

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks very much for going to that trouble. Now to put it to the test!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Killer



Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Location: South Wales

PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

David

Many thanks for your response, but unfortunately I haven't been able to implement the advice you gave me. I'm driving the Triton through a Kawai MP4 Stage Piano and, although I've been able to send Bank and Program change messages, there doesn't seem to be anywhere I can enter the sort of codes you sent me.
Any further advice or work arounds (other than manually press the COMBI/PROG buttons, which I'm sure to forget in a live performance!!).

I did try saving some PROGs as single voice COMBIs (so that everything I needed would be in COMBI banks), but sometimes the voices (PROGs) seems to change quite a bit - for the worse - when I do that. Must be some hidden settings in the COMBI I don't know about!

Many thanks,

Keith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dave
Senior Member


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Posts: 402
Location: Dublin, Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does the Kawai not have a software editor? I'm not familiar with it. If your keyboard controller doesn't support this, then you're out of luck, I'm afraid.

Kind regards.
_________________
Dave Bourke
- ideation -
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ravenage



Joined: 10 Oct 2008
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know the person who posted this probably isn't around any more, but for anyone else who's having the problem of Combis sounding different to Programs, it's probably just a simple case of copying the effects from the program to the combi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kingell



Joined: 18 Dec 2014
Posts: 4
Location: Yorkshire UK

PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2020 9:44 pm    Post subject: Triton Rack VST Reply with quote

Hmmmm I've tried these sysex for COMBI to PROG on a Triton Rack VST to no avail - just ignored. Any ideas please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Triton Rack All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group