Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Korg PA600 doesn't work after update
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Pa600/Pa300
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Opit



Joined: 17 Oct 2015
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2015 11:45 pm    Post subject: Korg PA600 doesn't work after update Reply with quote

Hi guys.

This morning I've updated my Korg PA600 to firmware V1.20 (System Update)
downloaded from http://www.korg.com/us/support/download/product/0/90/
Update process went perfectly fine, I've got update complete please turn off the keyboard message on the display however after restart Korg failed to work properly.
All I can see now is this Shocked



Keyboard is not responding to any keys and I cannot get into the system update to perform Factory Reset (also downloaded from Korg website).
It seems that PA600 is not registering me pressing INTRO 1 together with Power button.
I've also tried numbers of power cycles, I've taked out the clock battery for 30 minutes, tried INTRO 2 and 3 as well, no luck.

Is there any one who come across this issue befor ?
Please help.

I uploaded the video to Youtube just to show you how this issue looks like right now.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kAR3sb5dO-0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrniceneasy
Platinum Member


Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1099
Location: Spain

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Opit. I have never seen this issue before and so if I were you I would contact the Dealer you purchased from and ask for a return for repair or exchange under guarantee. Sad
_________________
Regards, Keith [pa700]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Opit



Joined: 17 Oct 2015
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Korg was purchased bit over 2 years ago by my friend in Poland and then shipped over here to Ireland.
My friend is looking for receipt already and hopefully he will find it.
In the mean time I've emailed Korg's UK service department.

Is there any other way to "force" update other that INTRO 1 (2, 3) + Power combination ?
I would try factory reset file but unfortunately I cannot do it at the moment as you can see.

I used genuine file provided by Korg themselves so I really don't know what could go wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
angelitto
Full Member


Joined: 27 Jun 2015
Posts: 207

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You used the corect OS for update? And what set u had loaded before update?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Opit



Joined: 17 Oct 2015
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

angelitto wrote:
You used the corect OS for update? And what set u had loaded before update?


Yes, proper OS was used for update.
Korg was backed up before update and full factory reset was done just after backup.
As I said, keyboard was working perfectly fine (on firmware V1.10) before update to V1.20.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
angelitto
Full Member


Joined: 27 Jun 2015
Posts: 207

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some guy had the same problem and choul not start the keyboard after the update
On the video's description he said that for corect update you need to do 2 steps:
1. Factory reset
2. Update.

If u did those 2 steps i have no ideea what is wrong.

I dont know how he repaired his Pa600.
Video is here

P.S. I just hope u didnt update with pa600 QT OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Opit



Joined: 17 Oct 2015
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

angelitto wrote:
Some guy had the same problem and choul not start the keyboard after the update
On the video's description he said that for corect update you need to do 2 steps:
1. Factory reset
2. Update.

If u did those 2 steps i have no ideea what is wrong.

I dont know how he repaired his Pa600.
Video is here

P.S. I just hope u didnt update with pa600 QT OS.


I was extra careful with that, I'm sure that I have downloaded proper firmware for Pa600 not for Pa600QT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nemik
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 27 Jan 2014
Posts: 1596
Location: Hilton Head Island, SC

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a problem with my Pa600.
After successful update crash and never boot up again, took them over 100 days to repair under warranty.
http://www.korgforums.com/forum/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=613591&highlight=#613591
They replaced Main CPU, which after open case was part# is GRL0102176 not GRA0002178.
Part # GRA0002178 is original KORG Main Board PA600.
Part # GRL0102176 is Main Board use on PA600 QT.
They put back to my Pa600 board GRL0102176, I have written confirmation.
Next time I will try do update, most likely going to happen again, but now I have all documentations, already in folder in my Attorney office,.... if something happen I will fight hard to prove them wrong.
So far Korg is working OK, I wish nothing never happen, but who knows. Rolling Eyes

If is already not under warranty, try check which CPU board you have installed, is just the hint. Cool
_________________
Nemik
Korg Pa600, Novation UltraNova, Akai Professional MPK49, Akai Professional MPK225 , Alesis QX-49, APC25 Keys, Launchpad MK2
MOTU Midi Express XT, FCB1010 with UnO, Behringer X2222 USB, Presonus AudioBox96, M-Track Plus
Fl Studio 12, Ableton Live 10 Suite.
Performers Heaven
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Opit



Joined: 17 Oct 2015
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think if that's the case here because my keyboard was updated from 1.00 to 1.10 some time ago without any issue.
I'm still waiting for reply from Korg's UK service. So far I've got only automatic respond
"
Many thanks for your email. We will endeavour to respond to your query within two working days, with apologies for any lateness of our reply.

With kind regards,

Dean Hudson
Returns Manager
Korg UK Ltd
"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wittid
Platinum Member


Joined: 02 May 2006
Posts: 821
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sent you a PM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
wittid
Platinum Member


Joined: 02 May 2006
Posts: 821
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 10:12 am    Post subject: Re: Korg PA600 doesn't work after update Reply with quote

Opit wrote:
Hi guys.

This morning I've updated my Korg PA600 to firmware V1.20 (System Update)


Use the factory reset from the same page and try this one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
Snorkum
Senior Member


Joined: 16 Apr 2014
Posts: 440
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a couple of questions. I had to update my keyboard twice because of a glitch the first time around. I have a PA900 but they work very similarly.

1. What happens when you turn power off and on again.
On mine every time I turned on power, it froze with another screen.
2. What happens when you turn on power and hold INTRO 1 until you get
the calibration screen?
3. Does it let you upgrade again?

Please remember that there is also a OS 1.2 upgrade for the PA900 and if you are not careful you use this upgrade instead of PA600. Just a thought.
_________________
The only stupid questions are the questions that have not been asked.
-----------------------------------------------------
GEM SX3, PA900
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Opit



Joined: 17 Oct 2015
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 11:57 am    Post subject: Re: Korg PA600 doesn't work after update Reply with quote

wittid wrote:
Opit wrote:
Hi guys.

This morning I've updated my Korg PA600 to firmware V1.20 (System Update)


Use the factory reset from the same page and try this one.

Please watch my video uploaded to Youtube.
I cannot apply any updates because INTRO1+Power button combination doesn't work.
I've tried that many many times already, Pa600 won't boot into calibration/update anymore Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thoraldus
Platinum Member


Joined: 28 Nov 2010
Posts: 2060
Location: Rocky Mountains - SE IDaho

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hopefully, Korg Italy will provide a NAND Format Utility for the PA600 as they did once here for the PA500 (See Paolo's post near bottom of page)

Apparently this file has not made it to the new KORG seb site. Sad
_________________
”It’s easy to play any musical instrument: all you have to do is touch the right key at the right time and the instrument will play itself.”

Johann Sebastian Bach

----------------------------------------------
Rick Stirling - Retired Electrical Engineer - Erstwhile Photographer
Korg Kronos2, Casio MZ-X500, PA600, AKAI MPD32, M-Audio Oxygen 25, ZOOM H6, Cakewalk Sonar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eduardo_Arg
Full Member


Joined: 29 May 2013
Posts: 224
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Toraldus & Friends:

Fortunatelly i don't upgrade PA-600 to new OS.- Disastrous experience of Nemik, make me doubt about the need of upgrading to v. 1.2.-
The changes between Version 1.10 a 1.2 were not significant for me and i don't want to run such a risk.-
We must take in count that only these happends on PA600, because newer PA don't have different mainboard (qt or normal sounds).-
Hoping Opit could get a serious response from UK Korg service.-
With regard.
Eduardo
_________________
Now: Korg Kronos 2 88 - Korg PA4x - Korg N1R Sound Module - Korg 05RW Sound Module - Roland 2080 Sound Module - Roland UM550 Edirol Midi Patchbay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Pa600/Pa300 All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group