Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Korg Minilogue Sequencer / Ableton Problem
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Analog Synths (General)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
STM



Joined: 01 Mar 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2016 2:30 pm    Post subject: Korg Minilogue Sequencer / Ableton Problem Reply with quote

Hi there,

I need a little help with the Minilogue. Whenever I hit play in ableton, the sequencer from the Minilogue plays. I can turn it off by pressing the play button on the Minilogue of course but when I stop and press play again the sequencer starts again.

Also, when I want to record the midi from the Minilogue, it just records the sequenced midi. I've looked in the manual but I can't seem to find a solution. Do you have any idea?

Hope someone can help me!

STM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ccelson



Joined: 07 Mar 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm also curious about this. Anyone know?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
STM



Joined: 01 Mar 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2016 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found the problem, it was due to the wrong midi settings in Ableton.

Minilogue (MIDI IN) should be on:
track: on / sync: off / remote: off

Minilogue (KBD/KNOB) should be on:
track: on / sync: off / remote: off

Minilogue (MIDI OUT) should be on:
track: on / sync: off / remote: off

Minilogue (MIDI SOUND) should be on:
track: on / sync: off / remote: off
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ccelson



Joined: 07 Mar 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 6:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Derp. Perfect, thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
autowah



Joined: 13 Aug 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 11:40 pm    Post subject: Re: Korg Minilogue Sequencer / Ableton Problem Reply with quote

STM wrote:
Hi there,

I need a little help with the Minilogue. Whenever I hit play in ableton, the sequencer from the Minilogue plays. I can turn it off by pressing the play button on the Minilogue of course but when I stop and press play again the sequencer starts again.

Hope someone can help me!

-------------------

Minilogue (MIDI IN) should be on:
track: on / sync: off / remote: off

Minilogue (KBD/KNOB) should be on:
track: on / sync: off / remote: off

Minilogue (MIDI OUT) should be on:
track: on / sync: off / remote: off

Minilogue (MIDI SOUND) should be on:
track: on / sync: off / remote: off

STM


My guess is that also will disable the delay from being synced.
If that is the case then I would want Korg to fix that in a firmware update. Preferably to turn it on/off without any menu diving.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomaspatrickdit



Joined: 24 Aug 2016
Posts: 1
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did anyone get any further with this?

Syncing LFO etc to Ableton projects seems like something very useful, but having the sequencer fire is incredibly annoying.

Only workaround is to delete sequencer recordings on the korg and save a new preset is the original is something you like.

Surely this can be fixed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moho



Joined: 24 Feb 2016
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thomaspatrickdit wrote:
Did anyone get any further with this?

Syncing LFO etc to Ableton projects seems like something very useful, but having the sequencer fire is incredibly annoying.

Only workaround is to delete sequencer recordings on the korg and save a new preset is the original is something you like.

Surely this can be fixed.


I personally find this the best workaround because if the sequencer doesn't start neither does the motion thus limiting the sonic possibilities.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
7zark7
Junior Member


Joined: 09 Jul 2015
Posts: 60
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This can be set on the Minilogue side.

Press edit mode

LFO sync is under program edit
(under the 3rd parameter button aka Unison)

Press the button repeatedly to see the 3 pages of edits under that button.

Sequencer sync is under global edit
(under the 4th parameter button aka Mono)

Press the button repeatedly to see the 5 pages of edits under that button.

I don't use Ableton, but I hope this helps.

-7zark7
_________________
https://soundcloud.com/7zark7
Hardware: 1010 Audio Bitbox, Akai MAX25 pro, Alesis Micron, Korg ES2, Korg KP3, Korg microSampler MS-1, Korg Minilogue, Korg MS20 mini, Korg SQ-1, Korg Triton, Korg Volca Sample, Roland MC-307, Roland AIRA MX-1, Roland AIRA SYSTEM 1m, Roland JD-Xi, Roland AIRA Scooper, Roland AIRA Demora,
Software: Synapse-Audio Orion and loads of VST/VSTi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrzejmikosz



Joined: 26 Aug 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 5:52 pm    Post subject: Sequencing off not working Reply with quote

I've changed this in the submenu, but it didn't work. It still does start every time this programmed sequence :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djcactus
Senior Member


Joined: 03 Dec 2011
Posts: 375

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the lfo has several settings "under the hood" Make sure that you have the settings you want such as "key sync", "bpm sync", and "voice sync"

P33-35 in the manual will tell you a little more. Hope this helps
_________________
2xds-10, ds10+, m01
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dillec



Joined: 22 Sep 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2016 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guys, I have a comparable problems but it's a bit more tricky.

I want to use the clock sync on the Minilogue on external, to have arpeggiators play in sync with Ableton, BUT this means that every time I hit 'play' in Ableton, the sequencer starts..

Does anyone know if it's possible to turn off JUST the sequencer start on sync but to keep the Arpeggiator sync? It would be so useful (in my case), but I'm not sure wether this is possible.. I find the midi options quite limited..

But if someone has a tip or trick, I'd be happy to hear it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OpAmp
Platinum Member


Joined: 07 Jun 2013
Posts: 806
Location: Brussels, BE

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2016 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm not familiar with Ableton, but solution should be found there. Because AFAIK the Minilogue has no MIDI filtering capabilities.
Note that Sync in theory should only send a clock to the Minilogue and not necessarily the Start/Stop commands when you push 'play'...

Other option is to try to delete the sequence data on the minilogue. So the sequencer will still run, but has nothing to do...

Bye.
_________________
microKORGXL, Kaossilator Pro, monotribe, SQ-1, volca fm, Kross 88 BK
Alesis SR18, Akai Miniak, Fender Strat, Line 6 Spider II 112
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rhizome



Joined: 12 Nov 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2016 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
AFAIK the Minilogue has no MIDI filtering capabilities.


MIDI slaves sending clocks out can be a pain in the ass as soon as you've got more than a couple of sequencers running... seems like something that could be added in firmware?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firstofnine



Joined: 12 Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Location: Munich/Bavaria/Germany

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there, though this threat is a few months old I am suffering from a similar problem. I run Logic Pro X as a MIDI clock master connected to a Korg Kronos. And I attached the Minilogue via MIDI through from the Kronos. Now each time I press start in Logic X the sequencer of the Minilogue starts playing. This is especially annoying when I want to record an Minilogue Arpeggio because it is "layered" with the sequencer when the recording starts.
Anyone an idea to fix this?
_________________
If you don't change it - it will not change
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ActionRiddler



Joined: 14 Jun 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just updated my monologue firmware to 1.1 (latest) and am still having the same problem with the ableton transport turning on the sequencer if you send sync data to the monologue. I'd be pretty annoyed if you can't send midi sync data while avoiding turning on the sequencer...

I'd like the ableton transport control to control the monologue transport (i.e. start and stop the sequencer IF i've turned it on), but just not turn on the sequencer if I've turned it off.

Any updates on this from anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Analog Synths (General) All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group