Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Why No Kronos Orchestral Brass Libraries? (& woodwinds)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Peas&Carrots
Full Member


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 129
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2016 7:09 pm    Post subject: Why No Kronos Orchestral Brass Libraries? (& woodwinds) Reply with quote

The likes of Korg, Kapro and Karo (and other brands of course!) have tempted us with their wonderful orchestral string libraries for a good few years now but there don't seem to be any good orchestral brass (& woodwinds etc.) libraries - even Karo rely mostly on the stock Kronos brass and woodwinds to mix with their own samples

There is the odd instrument here and there (e.g. Sonatina) but every time I search the web the tumbleweed keeps blowing past.

An example of the brass I'm taking about is here: http://www.native-instruments.com/en/products/komplete/orchestral-cinematic/symphony-series-brass-collection/ - no advertisement intended...

I'm not really sure why this is, maybe there just isn't the market for it...

Anyone got any recommendations ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 6010
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2016 11:31 pm    Post subject: Re: Why No Kronos Orchestral Brass Libraries? (& woodwin Reply with quote

Peas&Carrots wrote:
The likes of Korg, Kapro and Karo (and other brands

An example of the brass I'm taking about is here: http://www.native-instruments.com/en/products/komplete/orchestral-cinematic/symphony-series-brass-collection/ - no advertisement intended...

I'm not really sure why this is, maybe there just isn't the market for it...



I don't know if the Kronos is used for used for full on movie soundtracks/scores which is what your example sounds like. The film score producers likely use Digital Performer and a few PC's running Gigastudio, etc, etc for their platform.

Its possible that the Kronos can be used for indie productions.

Anyway, I like that demo. I don't recall hearing anything close enough from the 3rd party sample lib authors.
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. MBP
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
SeedyLee
Platinum Member


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 982
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Probably a silly question, but have you tried the brass expansion that comes preloaded with the Kronos? It's not loaded by default.

Personally, I use Extreme Sample Converter to port across sample libraries from Kontakt rather than buying expansions specifically for the Kronos anyway. Kronos libraries are expensive an non-transferrable, which doesn't make them more good long-term investment in my eyes.
_________________
Message me on BlackBerry Messenger: 2B3628BE
Current Equipment:
Korg Kronos 61, , Monotron, , Roland JV-80 & JV-1080 Kawai L1, Lexicon MX200, Motu 828 mk3, Presonus FaderPort, Motu MicroLite, Behringer BCR2000, Yamaha QY70, VocalWorks+, Rode NT1-A, Tascam VLX5 Monitors Tascam CD Player, Shure SRH840 Headphones. Shure IEM, Shure SM58, JBL PRX12 monitor wedge.

Previous: Triton LE 61/Sampling/64MB/4GB SCSI, MS2000BR, Monotribe, NanoKontrol, NanoKeys, Kaossilator II, Casio HT3000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pa3XDK
Full Member


Joined: 02 Sep 2012
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SeedyLee wrote:
Probably a silly question, but have you tried the brass expansion that comes preloaded with the Kronos? It's not loaded by default.

Personally, I use Extreme Sample Converter to port across sample libraries from Kontakt rather than buying expansions specifically for the Kronos anyway. Kronos libraries are expensive an non-transferrable, which doesn't make them more good long-term investment in my eyes.


How are the results when you sample from Kontakt libraries to the Kronos? Some of the (e.g. Guitars from 3. party have alot of vel. layers and scripts) is that possible to replicate on the Kronos? I've never tried this myself, as I just got the Kronos this week - but I'm VERY interested in hearing more about your results, if you'd take the time to explain. Smile
_________________
Korg Pa3X 76
Korg Kronos 2 73
Pro Tools 12
NI Komplete Ultimate 9, and a hell of a lot VI's

Music demo's at;
https://soundcloud.com/hellan-n-rlev/sets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Peas&Carrots
Full Member


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 129
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SeedyLee wrote:
Probably a silly question, but have you tried the brass expansion that comes preloaded with the Kronos? It's not loaded by default.
Yes. Karo use these in their string libraries

SeedyLee wrote:
Personally, I use Extreme Sample Converter
I would give this a try but I'm on a mac with limited storage capacity left for the Windows operating system Crying or Very sad I wish they would make a Mac version...

SeedyLee wrote:
Kronos libraries are expensive an non-transferrable, which doesn't make them more good long-term investment
Agreed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scott
Platinum Member


Joined: 16 Oct 2009
Posts: 749

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Peas&Carrots wrote:

SeedyLee wrote:
Personally, I use Extreme Sample Converter
I would give this a try but I'm on a mac with limited storage capacity left for the Windows operating system Crying or Very sad I wish they would make a Mac version...

There are other apps that will do the same thing on a Mac. Sample Robot, Samplit, Logic Pro.

Peas&Carrots wrote:
SeedyLee wrote:
Kronos libraries are expensive an non-transferrable, which doesn't make them more good long-term investment
Agreed.

They are transferrable to a new Kronos. At least according to http://www.korgforums.com/forum/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=668670#668670
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Peas&Carrots
Full Member


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 129
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Scott

Thanks for updating this post re transferring Kronos libraries.

I've had mixed results with Logic Pro X. I haven't tried the others you mention... (but of course: £££/$$$)

ttfn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scott
Platinum Member


Joined: 16 Oct 2009
Posts: 749

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Peas&Carrots wrote:
I haven't tried the others you mention... (but of course: £££/$$$)

I think those other two have free downloadable demos.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Conway
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 1997
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 10:38 am    Post subject: Re: Why No Kronos Orchestral Brass Libraries? (& woodwin Reply with quote

Peas&Carrots wrote:
The likes of Korg, Kapro and Karo (and other brands of course!) have tempted us with their wonderful orchestral string libraries for a good few years now but there don't seem to be any good orchestral brass (& woodwinds etc.) libraries - even Karo rely mostly on the stock Kronos brass and woodwinds to mix with their own samples


I have a few KARO/KApro libraries. There are some new brass sounds and even a few woodwinds (woodwind and flute ensembles, duduk, several pan flute variations, and uilleann pipes).

Nothing fancy, but here is a video of me going through several orchestral brass programs, from KApro and Korg's EXs 16. The focus is on orchestral brass, but obviously there are many saxes and other horns I didn't get to.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQTuYMA_No0





I also suggest going through the EXs 3 samples, as there is some decent variety there.

I haven't tried these, but there are some woodwinds in the first set.

KApro
127 & 128 16 bit Classics
116 Power Brass
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
methusala
Full Member


Joined: 24 Sep 2011
Posts: 114
Location: Shropshire, UK

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Korg did a brass/woodwind upgrade for the Oasys and they're fantastic.

Patrick
_________________
I'm ok when I get to the music.The Oasys 88 sees to that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Conway
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 1997
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

methusala wrote:
Korg did a brass/woodwind upgrade for the Oasys and they're fantastic.





Yep, that is EXs3, which is included in the Kronos. It is quite good! Search those sounds out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gargamel314
Platinum Member


Joined: 25 Dec 2007
Posts: 1104
Location: Carneys Point, NJ

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 4:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It may have something to do with money and effort. The amount of work that goes into creating multisamples from an entire orchestra is substantially more than sampling a single instrument or a sound, you have to pay all those musicians, too! Since Korg included EXs3 with the Kronos, everyone probably chose to work on other projects, especially because EXs3 was so good.
_________________
Korg Kronos-61, 01/Wfd, M3, SONAR Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exsequor699



Joined: 18 Apr 2016
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2017 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mike Conway wrote:
methusala wrote:
Korg did a brass/woodwind upgrade for the Oasys and they're fantastic.





Yep, that is EXs3, which is included in the Kronos. It is quite good! Search those sounds out.


I deleted by mistake the EXs3 PCG file in my Kronos. Can someone please share the PCG please? (The PCG, not the sample file)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AntonySharmman
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 16 Oct 2010
Posts: 2256
Location: Hellas

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

exsequor699 wrote:
I deleted by mistake the EXs3 PCG file in my Kronos. Can someone please share the PCG please? (The PCG, not the sample file)

PM me your email and I will help you !
_________________
Music Conductor - Sound Engineer & Developer - Automotive SMPS/RF R&D - Electronics Engineer
PaSeries Demos - Kronos EXs Libraries <> WavesArt.eu - KorgPa.gr <> Facebook

Keyboards : Steinway-D, Kronos X, Pa4X 76, Pa3X 76, Montage 7 ,Motif XF7, Roland-XV88, Emu3,Emax II,Synclavier II,Yamaha DX Series, ΟΒ-8V
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mike Conway
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 1997
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AntonySharmman wrote:

PM me your email and I will help you !


This request was posted on two different threads. He ended up finding the PCG file in his restore DVDs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group