Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Minilogue: what *can't* it do?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Analog Synths (General)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
tim7

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 4:19 pm    Post subject: Minilogue: what *can't* it do? Reply with quote

Hi everybody. I'm somewhat new to the world of synthesizers, although I used to build small sound modules as a kid in the 80s. With that kind of background in electronics I was drawn to analogue synths, and came across the Minilogue.

On paper at least it seems very flexible, and able to do almost everything an MS-20 can even without having a ptach panel. Looking through a few MS-20 patch libraries the only missing feature I could come up with were noise-to-VCO, which doesn't seem to be used very often. Does the Minilogue have any significant limitations, compared to other analogue synths?
Emmanuel G.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2016 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, having both, I can tell that the MS20 and minilogue are two very different beasts, they have very little in common to begin with.

The minilogue is indeed very flexible but within its own limitations, as a result, it does have lots of character and takes some time to really get the most out of it.

The MS20 has fewer limitations, being semi modular

While the minilogue may seem a little more docile than the MS20, once you get to know it better, you can really push it very far.