Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

i want to use monotribe as a melody synth in my beats

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> KORG Monotribe
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
qkrgusdb33



Joined: 22 Jul 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 1:25 am    Post subject: i want to use monotribe as a melody synth in my beats Reply with quote

i wanna put some synth melody with the monotribe to the beat i made with my mpc studio how could i get this done??the monotribe ribbon keyboard is to limited and uncomterble to use..so i wanna connect any other keyboard to play its synth.i think i heard you need to do it with the cv gate or something but im new to hardware stuffs so i'm not sure..and i don't think i have any keyboard that has the cv gate or somthing to plug cv stuffs...so i'm thinking of buying a not to expensive keyboard that could work with the cv gate in my monotribe..could any one recommend some keyboard i could buy??

thank you for reading!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OpAmp
Platinum Member


Joined: 07 Jun 2013
Posts: 799
Location: Brussels, BE

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,

Someone else may help on a keyboard with CV out...

If you are a bit handy, consider also the mod which brings MIDI in and out to your monotribe:
http://www.amazingmachines.com.br/products_miditribe.html

With that, you can connect a lot of stuff to the tribe. Price is 96$...


Bye.
_________________
microKORGXL, Kaossilator Pro, monotribe, SQ-1, volca fm, Kross 88 BK
Alesis SR18, Akai Miniak, Fender Strat, Line 6 Spider II 112
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
qkrgusdb33



Joined: 22 Jul 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OpAmp wrote:
hi,

Someone else may help on a keyboard with CV out...

If you are a bit handy, consider also the mod which brings MIDI in and out to your monotribe:
http://www.amazingmachines.com.br/products_miditribe.html

With that, you can connect a lot of stuff to the tribe. Price is 96$...


Bye.


wow i just saw the video and it's exactly what i want to do with my monotribe but i'm a noob in hardware stuff so i'm a lot afraid of opening the back of my monotribe and using the screw drive and stuff..

can i do the same thing using the keyboard with cv out???

and is it right to plug the cv cable in monotribe's sync out and connect the thing back in the keyboard's cv out? then plug the keyboard to my computer to record the synth audio???

thanks for your reply !!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OpAmp
Platinum Member


Joined: 07 Jun 2013
Posts: 799
Location: Brussels, BE

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello

You'll only be able to trigger a note of the synth part of the monotribe. The drumparts can not be accessed using a CV keyboard.

* your monotribe needs OS V2.1
* You need a CV/Gate cable. Most CV keyboards I think have separate outputs for Gate and CV. So those needs to be merged by the cable to the single 3.5mm connector. I'm not sure on that one, but the manual shows a connector with 4 contactpoints, like the one typically found on a headphone+mic for your mobile. Maybe difficult to find.
* If you have such a cable or assembled one, you need to connect it to the Gate and CV out of the keyboard and the other side to Sync IN
* Start the monotribe in CV/Gate mode (refer to the manual)
* Hook up the output or headphone connector of the monotribe to your soundcard/recorder/amplifier.

So quite some hurdles to take...

Have fun
_________________
microKORGXL, Kaossilator Pro, monotribe, SQ-1, volca fm, Kross 88 BK
Alesis SR18, Akai Miniak, Fender Strat, Line 6 Spider II 112
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
qkrgusdb33



Joined: 22 Jul 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 2:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OpAmp wrote:
Hello

You'll only be able to trigger a note of the synth part of the monotribe. The drumparts can not be accessed using a CV keyboard.

* your monotribe needs OS V2.1
* You need a CV/Gate cable. Most CV keyboards I think have separate outputs for Gate and CV. So those needs to be merged by the cable to the single 3.5mm connector. I'm not sure on that one, but the manual shows a connector with 4 contactpoints, like the one typically found on a headphone+mic for your mobile. Maybe difficult to find.
* If you have such a cable or assembled one, you need to connect it to the Gate and CV out of the keyboard and the other side to Sync IN
* Start the monotribe in CV/Gate mode (refer to the manual)
* Hook up the output or headphone connector of the monotribe to your soundcard/recorder/amplifier.

So quite some hurdles to take...

Have fun



can your recommend a keyboard that could work with the monotribe??
i been searching crazly and i can't find the right one...


1. akai max49 - i don't think i need all of the other things expect the cv gate so i think its not worth the prize for me all i need is some keyboard i could play my monotribe melody!!!!!


2. Roland Boutique Series A-01K - same reason as the akai max..


3. Arturia KeyStep - now i'm thinking of buying this one..but i'm not sure this will do what i want for me..

do you think the Arturia KeyStep will be right for me??

if you could please recommend me one ..

thanks for the reply man!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OpAmp
Platinum Member


Joined: 07 Jun 2013
Posts: 799
Location: Brussels, BE

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I think most of these boards will do the job. Now just find a good cable...

That is the annoying thing of the monotribe. They reuse the sync-in for that purpose, and expects both CV and gate on the same inputport, while most other analog gear use separate inputs for CV and gate. I'm afraid you will need to solder a bit, but it should not be too hard. Get some inspiration here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JyUbJf0AEkQ
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QFVz-I7zx1A

Cia.
_________________
microKORGXL, Kaossilator Pro, monotribe, SQ-1, volca fm, Kross 88 BK
Alesis SR18, Akai Miniak, Fender Strat, Line 6 Spider II 112
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
qkrgusdb33



Joined: 22 Jul 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OpAmp wrote:
Hi,

I think most of these boards will do the job. Now just find a good cable...

That is the annoying thing of the monotribe. They reuse the sync-in for that purpose, and expects both CV and gate on the same inputport, while most other analog gear use separate inputs for CV and gate. I'm afraid you will need to solder a bit, but it should not be too hard. Get some inspiration here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JyUbJf0AEkQ
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QFVz-I7zx1A

Cia.


sorry for the late reply man!!!

thanks you really helped me a lot!!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> KORG Monotribe All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group