Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How to Enter Kronos Test Mode
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
xCDx
Junior Member


Joined: 08 Dec 2002
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2015 2:13 am    Post subject: How to Enter Kronos Test Mode Reply with quote

I got the Kronos service manuals when someone gave a link awhile back but I don't understand how to enter the test mode that the manual states. It says push mixer knobs+reset controls+enter+5. Is this at any particular screen to anyone that has done this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Broadwave
Platinum Member


Joined: 25 May 2011
Posts: 1070
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2015 7:20 am    Post subject: Re: How to Enter Kronos Test Mode Reply with quote

xCDx wrote:
I got the Kronos service manuals when someone gave a link awhile back but I don't understand how to enter the test mode that the manual states. It says push mixer knobs+reset controls+enter+5. Is this at any particular screen to anyone that has done this?


Are you SURE you want to enter test/calibration mode?

I've been repairing/building synths for donkeys years, and the idea of messing around with the Kronos' basic functions scares the living Bjeezus out of me.

All 4 buttons need to be pressed at the same time for a few seconds. You can enter test mode from any screen - But it's your call.
_________________
Kronos 2 88, Roland System-8, Yamaha MODX6, Broadwave ARP 2600 Clone, Broadwave Minimoog Clone, Broadwave Sparta, Broadwave Modular, Fender Deluxe Plus Top (iOS), Squier CV 50, Squier VM Jazzmaster, Broadwave 12 String Telecaster

Synth DIY Projects
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
branman



Joined: 25 Jan 2015
Posts: 28
Location: Vancouver, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2015 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree - if you don't have a specific reason to go there, better not. It can be a real pandora's box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
karmathanever
Platinum Member


Joined: 12 Jan 2004
Posts: 8824
Location: Australia (Oz !!)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2015 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I agree - if you don't have a specific reason to go there, better not. It can be a real pandora's box.


+1000
_________________
------------------------------------------------------------------
Korg:------ PA4X-76, Kronos-61, WaveDrum Global
Roland:---- Integra-7, HS5, A800 Pro
Premier:--- Mid 90's Genista
Yamaha:--- DTXtreme IIIs
Casio:------ MZ-X500
------------------------------------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DJ Kronos
Junior Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2015
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 5:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My questions would be:

Why would one want to enter test mode and what could be accomplished there? (If there were a problem, for example)
and
How does one then EXIT test mode?


Dare I ask for a copy of the service manual..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xCDx
Junior Member


Joined: 08 Dec 2002
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wanted to look at the temperatures through the test mode because the heat on the right top near where the power cord plugs in seemed so hot. I can pm the service manuals.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
karmathanever
Platinum Member


Joined: 12 Jan 2004
Posts: 8824
Location: Australia (Oz !!)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2015 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So what are you going to do if/when you enter test mode and find out the temperature?
Would make more sense to get this checked out (and fixed) professionally.

I know of at least 4 Korg owners who have damaged their keyboards by messing around in diagnostics mode.

Confused
_________________
------------------------------------------------------------------
Korg:------ PA4X-76, Kronos-61, WaveDrum Global
Roland:---- Integra-7, HS5, A800 Pro
Premier:--- Mid 90's Genista
Yamaha:--- DTXtreme IIIs
Casio:------ MZ-X500
------------------------------------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bald Eagle
Platinum Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 2278
Location: Long Island, NY

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2015 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DJ Kronos wrote:
My questions would be:

Why would one want to enter test mode ...

Why would anyone want to climb a mountain ... Because it's there Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bluelava



Joined: 29 Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Location: Munich

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2015 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

karmathanever wrote:

I know of at least 4 Korg owners who have damaged their keyboards by messing around in diagnostics mode.

Confused


Do you know how exactly they achieved this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
karmathanever
Platinum Member


Joined: 12 Jan 2004
Posts: 8824
Location: Australia (Oz !!)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2015 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Do you know how exactly they achieved this?

From memory one owner lost the keyboard due to running some "formatting" options but I can't remember exactly what.
I think it was as a result of an accidental hit of one of the options in the diagnostics mode.

I do know that his keyboard ended up having to go back to Korg service to be recovered.

Pete Very Happy
_________________
------------------------------------------------------------------
Korg:------ PA4X-76, Kronos-61, WaveDrum Global
Roland:---- Integra-7, HS5, A800 Pro
Premier:--- Mid 90's Genista
Yamaha:--- DTXtreme IIIs
Casio:------ MZ-X500
------------------------------------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bluelava



Joined: 29 Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Location: Munich

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2015 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the answer!

Judging from the procedures described within the service manual I would have thought that the test mode has more of a diagnostic character rather than offering options to "change settings". That's why I don't understand how one can really mess things up using this mode.

Fabian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SanderXpander
Platinum Member


Joined: 29 Jul 2011
Posts: 7860

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2015 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you can set keyboard type but I don't think you can really "break" anything as such. Can't you see core temperature in global mode anyway?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pedro5
Platinum Member


Joined: 06 Oct 2011
Posts: 1127
Location: Coventry UK.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2015 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Test Mode is meant for service technicians,for various purposes, as an aid tool for testing/diagnosis,some calibration or for particular information regarding status etc.
According to Korg,end users (owners) are not supposed to access it at all…..the obvious reason being that any tampering can have unwanted results.
It's possible to reclaim these settings by making repeated attempts,but there isn't a re-set as such.

Although some information could be of interest,it is not really vital for the running of a fault free keyboard.
No one will be missing out on anything as most of the "user settings" are available via global etc.

However,many owners have used the test mode without any problems,either to view the information or just to run through the various tests without altering anything.
This would be better achieved in conjunction with the service manual,using it as a guide to the sequential tests.(Each one can be skipped,if not needed).
The final part would be to save the settings,(or not) then exit and reboot.

The general advice would be not to tamper with the settings in test mode,but for those who insist on "looking"…..do be careful !

Best Wishes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 8324
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2015 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I always thought that the idea behind buying a Kronos was to enjoy the great sounds, numerous sample libs, create songs, etc, etc.

It didn't occur to me that another reason is to fiddle around in test mode, play DIY/try as you go on a $3000 keyboard
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
kronoSphere
Senior Member


Joined: 04 Jan 2012
Posts: 438

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2015 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes GregC +++++ Very Happy
_________________
trees are going fast.

https://www.lairdeparis.fr

Current Gear : Kronos 88 / Seaboard Rise / Triton Extreme / Sequoia / Motif Rack XS / TC Helicon voicelive rack / Audio & VSTi plug-ins connected /wide touchscreen / iPad Pro 512.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group