Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

DJs in the local music scene

View previous topic :: View next topic  
gnbutt

PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 7:26 pm    Post subject: DJs in the local music scene Reply with quote

I have been a keyboard musician for over 40 years playing gigs in the bar scene in downtown Toronto (which paid my way through university I might add) as a "weekend warrior" and moved up to Thunder Bay, Ont. in 1988 with a company. I continued gigging an assortment of venues over the years, performing mainly for fun with a local 70's & 80's cover band until a few years ago. What I have found, however, is that, other than for a few successful bars offering a Saturday night for some local live bands or those touring through, that the DJ scene is almost everywhere now as a source of entertainment.

Recently, my wife and I went to an event which happened to feature a DJ and I could not believe his show including lighting set-up, large projection TV's showing video's, huge sound, the guy was a great entertainer with showmanship, I was really surprised by the evening. I don't know what his fee would have been but it was an impressive evening.

What is happening to the live music industry. This city of about 110,000 has some country bands, folk bands and some rock bands but it just seems like the music audience has changed and DJ's are taking a good share now of events in the music business, I don't really think of them as "musicians".