Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Midi foot control with midi solutions f8

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Pa600/Pa300
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nickmostly



Joined: 25 Jan 2017
Posts: 20
Location: Reno MV

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 10:14 pm    Post subject: Midi foot control with midi solutions f8 Reply with quote

has anybody tried this unit?
http://www.midi-store.com/Midi-Solutions-F8-Footswitch-Controller-p/sku16782.htm?gclid=CObwn9HK9NECFRC4wAodCisB2A#reviews-anchor

I am still on a quest for the right foot controlling set up.
I have to wear pretty big shoes due to a handicap and this would allow me to place footswitches wherever I please.
the manual is a bit over my head so I'm not sure it would work...
http://www.midisolutions.com/MIDI%20Solutions%20F8.pdf

there is also mention that it could control more than one midi device, though I dont see that in the manual, probly requires more hardware?
thanx for all the help folks, and toleratin my lack of knowledge in this phase of midi. But I'm gettin better.
I want things to be easy, and it just ain't so : )
_________________
Korg PA600, Cubase 6, Kurzweil PS88, Home studio with lots of instruments: all the saxes, flute, alto flute guitars and more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tacman7
Full Member


Joined: 02 Apr 2009
Posts: 248
Location: SoCal

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 2:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you read this one:

http://www.midisolutions.com/applicat.htm#FootswitchControllers

Those are pretty cool, I have an event processor plus that I used to use to turn programming changes into midi notes for cubase commands.

So they can do most everything you can think of.

What are you thinking of?

It only has one output but midi can be daisy chained but I forget how to identify devices on the chain but might be able to do something like that.

If you have a device with an in and out/thru. USB would have to be run through a computer.
_________________
PA600 Studio One3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
siebenhirter
Platinum Member


Joined: 13 Oct 2011
Posts: 888

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tacman7 wrote:
.. It only has one output but midi can be daisy chained but I forget how to identify devices on the chain but might be able to do something like that ...


Most modern MIDI devices will default to Omni On/Poly mode of operation. In this mode, the device will play note messages received on any MIDI Channel, and notes received on each Channel are played polyphonically.

In the Omni Off/Poly mode of operation, the device will receive on a single Channel and play the notes received on this Channel polyphonically. This mode could be useful when several devices are daisy-chained using MIDI THRU. In this case each device in the chain can be set to play one part (the MIDI data on one Channel), and ignore the information related to the other parts.
_________________
kind regards
- siebenhirter, austria -
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickmostly



Joined: 25 Jan 2017
Posts: 20
Location: Reno MV

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 4:09 pm    Post subject: midi thru Reply with quote

thanx guys
unfortunately neither the Pa600 or the roland rc202 loop station have midi thru. These are the things I plan to use on stage. nor does the Kieth Mcmillan midi expander. I just ordered the softstep 2 and the expander.
https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/RC202
https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/MIDIExpand?
https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/SoftStep2
Hmm.. just realized the expander does have both usb ports and the rc202 can recieve a usb midi signal. so maybe...
I need to sync the rc202 to the pa600 and control both with the softstep. looks like this may be possible in the omni off setting?
I'm hoping my huge feet can operate the softsep. We will see : ) It is so nice and small and looks fairly easy to program. The midi 8 would be my next alternative. Tacman.. that other midi solutions stuff looks way cool, tho I dont understamd what some of it does : )
like I say, this is new to me but i'm doin my best to learn.
I hope my terminology is correct.
thanx again?
_________________
Korg PA600, Cubase 6, Kurzweil PS88, Home studio with lots of instruments: all the saxes, flute, alto flute guitars and more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nemik
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 27 Jan 2014
Posts: 1589
Location: Hilton Head Island, SC

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had same problem with my Pa600, have no midi thru, but now I am using Motu Midi Express XT and have my all devices connected and sync.
http://motu.com/products/midi/xpressxt_usb
Wink
_________________
Nemik
Korg Pa600, Novation UltraNova, Akai Professional MPK49, Akai Professional MPK225 , Alesis QX-49, APC25 Keys, Launchpad MK2
MOTU Midi Express XT, FCB1010 with UnO, Behringer X2222 USB, Presonus AudioBox96, M-Track Plus
Fl Studio 12, Ableton Live 10 Suite.
Performers Heaven
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Pa600/Pa300 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group