Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Compressors??

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Mastering & Mixing
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bertotti
Platinum Member

PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 10:56 pm    Post subject: Compressors?? Reply with quote

I have an Antelope Audio Zen Tour and they have a lot of compressors. I am new to compressors so my question is how do you know which to pick and use? Is there really that much difference between them?
SanderXpander
Platinum Member

PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, only just saw this. Compressors are like analog (or in this case virtual analog) synths. They all basically do the same thing, some have more options than others but each one has a distinct character. How do you know? Mostly experience. There are a few really famous classic compressors though and they differ enough that they tend to work best on different things;

The LA2A is an optical compressor with a very simple "peak reduction" controller. It's technically called a "leveling amplifier" and has a "smoothening" effect, working well to even out vocals for instance.

The 1176 is a compressor with exceptionally fast attack and thus works well on drums, or to catch the initial sharp plosives in a vocal performance. Note that the "attack" knob, contrary to most compressors, doesn't signify attack time but rather the "speediness" of the attack, so clockwise/higher values means a faster attack.