Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Stubborn problem syncing Volca Keys to PO-12

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Troglodyte

PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 2:18 pm    Post subject: Stubborn problem syncing Volca Keys to PO-12 Reply with quote

I've had the Keys for months, just got the PO-12. This is my first attempt at syncing anything, but I've done my research before posting this.

I'm setting up Keys as master, PO-12 as slave. Cable goes from sync out on Volca to left side jack of PO-12.

They sort of sync - I can simultaneously adjust the tempo of both devices from the Keys tempo knob, which says to me that the Keys CV pulse is talking and the PO-12 is listening.

But the Keys seems to lose a step every cycle compared to the PO-12. I know I need to start them simultaneously, that's not the problem.

I'm testing this by getting both units going, tweaking Keys tempo to make sure they're synced (such as it is), playing a blip on the Keys just as the PO-12 starts its sequence, then watching to see where that blip goes relative to the PO-12 sequence. Results are always the same - the Keys loses a step or so every cycle compared to PO-12.

I've researched similar syncing issues in this forum and elsewhere and I've tried everything:
- ensured volume on both not too high
- ensured tempo not too low
- changed Volca power supply from batteries to PSU
- checked Volca Sync Out Polarity
- checked I'm using a stereo cable
- set to SY2 on the PO-12 (also tried the other options)
- removed headphones from both units, listening via onboard speakers