Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

beyond pentatonic scales

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bertotti
Platinum Member

PostPosted: Sat Jun 10, 2017 6:20 pm    Post subject: beyond pentatonic scales Reply with quote

I am curious and have little knowledge of this. Background first, I am a hack, self taught and not very well, music is a fun hobby but I want to learn more. Pentatonic scales on guitar and cowboy chords I have learned. I want to create something else. I have a melody in mind and half hashed out. My question leads to chording. I do not know a lot od scales obviously, what did the likes of Back and Pachelbel use for their scales in their organ music? Just major scales? How did they choose them? Or the other side of some of my projects the likes of Sergio Leoni and his spaghetti western music. I have a lot to learn just want to move on and these are things I was thinking about in the middle of the night. Thanks if you have any comments or thoughts on this. I bought sounds of music perception so I can start working through that and maybe learn something.
Koekepan
Platinum Member

PostPosted: Sun Jun 11, 2017 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Easy way of getting a handle on it:

The diatonic scale is what you're looking for. The diatonic scale is just a pentatonic scale plus two notes.

The major and minor scales are just modes of the diatonic scale. So learn what a mode is, learn what the diatonic scale is, and you'll be much better off.

Next up: learn the circle of fifths, how it relates to the diatonic scale, and how it relates to different scales in modern western music.