Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

A problem has been detected

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lukas.vidrna@seznam.cz



Joined: 12 Jun 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:13 am    Post subject: A problem has been detected Reply with quote

Hello, I have problem with my Kronos X73.
4 months ago I had a problem: When I was starting up Kronos, on the display I saw: "A problem has been detected. Please turn the Kronos off, wait for a 10 sec, and then turn it back on." Then I had a problem with starting of Kronos- maybe 1 out of 5 attempts led to succesfull starting Kronos.

I had an old OS 2.0 and after advice of Service a new was installed (OS 3.1.2.). After this reinstalling OS a problem was solved. But only for a short time. The last weekend during the concerts - Kronos was turned off itself and I saw a notice: A problem has been detected. Please turn the Kronos off, wait for a 10 sec, and then turn it back on" again. It was during a concert, it was very complicated for me...

Please, can you give me an advice?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
alland
Senior Member


Joined: 17 Jun 2009
Posts: 487
Location: Estonia

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have seen this message several times.
Once I noticed that this message and black screen was probably related to some vibration me or someone caused at/near Kronos.
I opened Kronos (bottom lid), checked/touched all visible cables/connections, reseated two memory chips and did not see message for long time again.

Few times I have seen this message and seemingly it was related to some power surges or fluctuations. Adding UPS and surge protector and grounding properly my gear hopefully reduces that risk.

At home studio this black screen message is just annoying, but also have had couple embarrassing moments on stage. I usually have two keyboard rig (Kronos and some other) on stage and can handle that.
I think that Big Artists have spare Kronoses with them on stage Smile
_________________
Korg KronosX/M3/Pa2x Pro • Reaper&Ableton • NI Komplete 10 • Omnisphere • Usine • soundcloud.com/allandd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kbrkr
Platinum Member


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 523
Location: Tampa, FL, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is not normal. Your Kronos has an intermittent problem which I believe should be looked at by an Authorized Service Center.

I moved my K1 and now my K2 around a lot with over a 100 gigs and rehearsals a year and it has been rock solid and never let me down.
_________________
Pa4x, Kronos 2, LD Maui 28 (2)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alland
Senior Member


Joined: 17 Jun 2009
Posts: 487
Location: Estonia

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Forgot to tell, that my Kronos was out of warranty and Korg is not wery well represented in this part of the world Smile
_________________
Korg KronosX/M3/Pa2x Pro • Reaper&Ableton • NI Komplete 10 • Omnisphere • Usine • soundcloud.com/allandd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amit
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 13 Jul 2015
Posts: 696
Location: New Delhi, India

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Happened to me few days back when plugging / unplugging some usb
_________________
DX7-MOD-7 Patches | Korg Related Content
iPad Pro 12.9 256GB, iPad 2, etc
Korg Kronos 2 61, Korg PA600, Novation Sl 49 MK II, Waldorf Pulse 2, Novation Circuit,EWI USB, Graphite 49,Nano key Studio, BeatStep Pro,Zoom MS-70CDR,MicroKontrol,KLC, Korg DS-1H, Korg EXP-2,Roland DP-10, Nanopad 2, TEcontrol BBC2
Ibanez S470 with SD pups, Prs Korina with SD JB set pups ,Squier CV 60's Strat,VHT Special 6 Ultra,Blackstar HT1R 1W ,Roland Cube 30x,Seymour Duncan TT Classic, Nux-Green OD & EQ, Catlinbread DLS MKIII, Steinberg UR44,Yamaha MG10XU, Behringer UltraG DI, Presonus Eris E5 ,Epiphone Acoustic, Aria Jazz Bass, SM57, Rode NT-1,M11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Falcon2e
Full Member


Joined: 19 Feb 2008
Posts: 204
Location: Indiana USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the same issue I had almost 2 years ago. I noticed that you have the newest OS, that's great! My error message went away after installing the latest FIRMWARE. Just to be clear, firmware and OS are not the same. Get your K tech to check to see if your firmware needs an update.
_________________
Kronos2-61, Triton Classic, Nord Stage 2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
navydave
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 404
Location: Auburn, ME USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As alland suggested, re-seat the ram is the first thing you should try. Sometimes they (ram chips) work themselves lose enough to loose connection intermittently. Also, temp changes, etc might cause it. Or there may be a slight bit of oxidation on the contacts. Re-seating the ram usually clears it up. If after that, it continues to happen, could be other issues. Maybe power related, possibly power supply. A battery backup with AVR (automatic voltage regulation) is recommended if the power is not the best in your area.
_________________
Korg Kronos-61, Korg Triton Le-61, Korg R-3, Alesis Vortex, Edirol PCR-M80, Yamaha Motif XF-61, Roland JV-1080, Roland D-5, E-MU Classic Keys, Kawai Q-80 Sequencer, iPad Pro 9.7, Roland A-49
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group