Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Using Vocoder in SEQ

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bmtg



Joined: 22 May 2017
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:36 pm    Post subject: Using Vocoder in SEQ Reply with quote

Hello,

I've been able to set up a live vocoder in a program using a mic in input 1, no problem, works great!

Now I want to use it in some sequences. I'm not sure how exactly it works. I was wondering if it's possible to record some singing onto an audio track of the SEQ, and then feed that to a midi track with a vocoder patch, playing the keyboard part separately. (Or vice versa, record silent key presses, and then sing a vocal to the audio track and then route them together.) If so, how best to set that type of routing up? if not, how does a vocoder in SEQ work?

I am new to Kronos, so details are always appreciated!

Thx!
_________________
Kronos 2.73 - NanoPad2 - MBP - DP9
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SanderXpander
Platinum Member


Joined: 29 Jul 2011
Posts: 7728

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use the audio input routing page and copy those settings from the program. Direct the synth track to the IFX bus where you have the vocoder.

FWIW, you don't actually need to sing through a vocoder. Talking clearly and enunciating well works best.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmtg



Joined: 22 May 2017
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you. Is it possible to feed the synth track with a recorded audio track (talking) to modulate the vocoder? Or does it have to be done live so to speak?

Cheers
_________________
Kronos 2.73 - NanoPad2 - MBP - DP9
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Conway
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 1918
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bmtg wrote:
Is it possible to feed the synth track with a recorded audio track (talking) to modulate the vocoder? Or does it have to be done live so to speak?


A recorded signal is even better, because you can have a strong level and no risk of feedback from stage monitors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bmtg



Joined: 22 May 2017
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the help, I was able to figure it out.

Cheers
_________________
Kronos 2.73 - NanoPad2 - MBP - DP9
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group