Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How to save just some programs from a pcg/ksc set

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bmtg



Joined: 22 May 2017
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:53 pm    Post subject: How to save just some programs from a pcg/ksc set Reply with quote

Hi, been trying to figure this out for a while, so finally just going to ask.

I have a downloaded file set that has a PCG file, a KSC file, and a UserBank.KSC file. I put them on a USB, load them, sound great. Unfortunately the complete set of sounds is too big to append, so I can't have them in there without wiping the other KSC including preload.

At any rate, I just want 1 or 2 of the prog and their associated samples either merged into a new KSC, or made into a new (smaller) one. Can't seem to figure out how to get that to actually happen.

I've browsed a few old topics but hit a wall when trying to get this to work. Any help appreciated.

Cheers
_________________
Kronos 2.73 - NanoPad2 - MBP - DP9
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Schmooster
Full Member


Joined: 13 Jan 2007
Posts: 234

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2017 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have a watch through this as you don't specify exactly what's going wrong - hope it helps.

It's a tutorial by Qui Robinez - in fact if this video doesn't help I'm sure a PM to him with your specific issue will be answered in full detail.

http://youtu.be/Y-QtAyf98nQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmtg



Joined: 22 May 2017
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2017 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, that was helpful in its own way, but i still can't figure out my specific issue. Maybe another way to put it is this:

I have a KSC file I can't append to my existing setup because it is too big. Is there a way to just load a few of the samples from it, the ones needed for a certain program?

What I tried:
When I dig into the KSC and try to load just the samples relevant to the program, they appear to load, but the program doesn't see them and I can't seem to find them in the OSC1 basic page to relink them.

Cheers
_________________
Kronos 2.73 - NanoPad2 - MBP - DP9
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amit
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 13 Jul 2015
Posts: 694
Location: New Delhi, India

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2017 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't have to take out sample from an ksc file into you own to use that.

You can reference samples from other KSC files as long as they are on your kronos HDD.

You save the KSC telling it to save references and links.
second option or third option.
That way you can build your custom KSC with references to other KSC and only load what is required.

for example:

I would first load the program without the KSC and would let the program complain about missing samples, then I would tell the program to load missing samples but not the entire bank. Once all programs that i want are loaded with samples I would save the sampling data using the option 2.
_________________
DX7-MOD-7 Patches | Korg Related Content
iPad Pro 12.9 256GB, iPad 2, etc
Korg Kronos 2 61, Korg PA600, Novation Sl 49 MK II, Waldorf Pulse 2, Novation Circuit,EWI USB, Graphite 49,Nano key Studio, BeatStep Pro,Zoom MS-70CDR,MicroKontrol,KLC, Korg DS-1H, Korg EXP-2,Roland DP-10, Nanopad 2, TEcontrol BBC2
Ibanez S470 with SD pups, Prs Korina with SD JB set pups ,Squier CV 60's Strat,VHT Special 6 Ultra,Blackstar HT1R 1W ,Roland Cube 30x,Seymour Duncan TT Classic, Nux-Green OD & EQ, Catlinbread DLS MKIII, Steinberg UR44,Yamaha MG10XU, Behringer UltraG DI, Presonus Eris E5 ,Epiphone Acoustic, Aria Jazz Bass, SM57, Rode NT-1,M11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bmtg



Joined: 22 May 2017
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2017 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, load missing samples was the trick I was missing!

Cheers
_________________
Kronos 2.73 - NanoPad2 - MBP - DP9
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group