Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Odd question about running a bass through the Kronos...

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
progkey



Joined: 31 Jul 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:32 pm    Post subject: Odd question about running a bass through the Kronos... Reply with quote

First off, I use the Kronos 2 88 (if that changes anything).

I am fairly new to synthesizers in general, so I apologize if this is a bad question.

I was recently experimenting with the Mic input (specifically, the vocoder) and I had an interesting thought. Would it be possible to run my bass (or guitar, for instance) INTO the Kronos and utilize it's massive array of effects modules? I.e., plugging the bass into the Kronos and running its input signal through phaser, eq, harmonizer, or any other effect. In other words, using the Kronos as the world's largest and most expensive pedal-board.

Like I said, this could be a stupid question, but I wouldn't know where to begin to investigate if such a task were possible.

Is this something that could theoretically be done, and if so, how would I go about doing it? Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoeyL



Joined: 30 Jul 2015
Posts: 42
Location: in transit

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes you can. Route the audio from the audio tab on the first page of a program to insert effects and have a blast. I don't know about vocoder but I don't see why it wouldn't work. You would have to route the bass and th mic into the vocoder. I always have better luck by using a hard compressed ifx on mic before going into the vocoder effect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voip
Platinum Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2014
Posts: 1100

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Absolutely it can be done. Here's an example of what's possible:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9n7ctQ8qgA8

Related video shows how it's achieved.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amit
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 13 Jul 2015
Posts: 743
Location: New Delhi, India

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you bass / guitars have active pups you can plug them directly, however if they are passive then you will need a high impedance converter like a DI box/ buffer For the best results.
_________________
DX7-MOD-7 Patches | Korg Related Content
iPad Pro 12.9 256GB, iPad 2, etc
Korg Kronos 2 61, Korg PA600, Novation Sl 49 MK II, Waldorf Pulse 2, Novation Circuit,EWI USB, Graphite 49,Nano key Studio, BeatStep Pro,Zoom MS-70CDR,MicroKontrol,KLC, Korg DS-1H, Korg EXP-2,Roland DP-10, Nanopad 2, TEcontrol BBC2
Ibanez S470 with SD pups, Prs Korina with SD JB set pups ,Squier CV 60's Strat,VHT Special 6 Ultra,Blackstar HT1R 1W ,Roland Cube 30x,Seymour Duncan TT Classic, Nux-Green OD & EQ, Catlinbread DLS MKIII, Steinberg UR44,Yamaha MG10XU, Behringer UltraG DI, Presonus Eris E5 ,Epiphone Acoustic, Aria Jazz Bass, SM57, Rode NT-1,M11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group