Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Kronos' quirks
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 6802
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2018 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LaLaLand wrote:
Finger touch on touch screen is driving me nuts! I’m sure it could have been done better.
With nail it’s a bit more obedient.
With stylus it’s perfect. But not so convenient.


Using a finger on the LCD is not precise for me either. I adapt. I keep cabinet fabric on the Kronos ( 88, upper right). I plop the stylus on that area when not using the LCD.

I am 99% in SEQ mode, so the stylus is part of my finger when I am not playing.
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
LaLaLand



Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Every 20th “power switch on” ends up in “system startup failure”.
Almost every time after auto shut off.
Quite disappointing.

https://youtu.be/Fu27oHn-H_A
_________________
Ride on
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 6802
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LaLaLand wrote:
Every 20th “power switch on” ends up in “system startup failure”.
Almost every time after auto shut off.
Quite disappointing.

https://youtu.be/Fu27oHn-H_A


thats more than a quirk. Thats about the 5th repeat report on the past month.
Theory that some new K's have a defective component.

You sort of raise the question of auto shut off, a software feature that has been around for some years. Might be worth a try if auto shut off can be disabled.

While a standard feature on K2's, my 7 yr old K does not have auto shut off.

anyway, you are at the point to exchange/return your K for another keyboard.
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
LaLaLand



Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for prompt answer GregC. I’d like to use my warranty to claim this issue, but Mr. Murphy will certainly fix the problem while on diagnostics. Can you offer any advice GregC?

I don’t mind disabling auto-off, I don’t find it useful anyway. But I would like my unit to be as healthy as possible.

Btw, sorry for catastrophic video, I didn’t realize it was so blurry when I put it online. I saw my K was about to “do it again”, so I pulled out my cell to catch it quickly, but I wasn’t fast enough.
_________________
Ride on
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 6802
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LaLaLand wrote:
Thanks for prompt answer GregC. I’d like to use my warranty to claim this issue, but Mr. Murphy will certainly fix the problem while on diagnostics. Can you offer any advice GregC?

I don’t mind disabling auto-off, I don’t find it useful anyway. But I would like my unit to be as healthy as possible.

.


I can only help a little. On line diagnosis on a complex instrument like Kronos is impossible. Similar to diagnosing dental problems on the Internet Smile

Use your warranty. real life authorized repair centers have the tools.
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
LaLaLand



Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I’ll contact my local service center. Hopefully they will recognize the problem. Thanks GregC

Btw, I see you’re dealing with Roland-FA. This was Kronos’ first rival when I was in a quest for a new synth. But I have chosen Kronos. How wrong would be to opt for FA-08 instead (not looking at the price tag)?
_________________
Ride on
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 6802
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LaLaLand wrote:
Yeah, I’ll contact my local service center. Hopefully they will recognize the problem. Thanks GregC

Btw, I see you’re dealing with Roland-FA. This was Kronos’ first rival when I was in a quest for a new synth. But I have chosen Kronos. How wrong would be to opt for FA-08 instead (not looking at the price tag)?


I like the FA. It has strengths the K lacks.

On the other hand the K has many features , more sound engines that the FA can't touch.

I have no idea of your requirements so I can't give you a definitive answer.
Definitely avoid the FA-06 since the keybed is clearly a budget thing.

The 07 has a good synth action. Which is why I chose that ( over the 06)
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ng_friend



Joined: 17 Jan 2018
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jg:: wrote:
The issue relating to "hearing a beep but no action results" with the touchscreen....

This has always happened to me occasionally, even going back to Oasys and M3 (I don't recall Triton behaving like this, but it was a monochrome display). It happens when you don't press closely enough to the "sweet spot". Hence using a stylus or fingernail can be better for accuracy than a finger.

However, I've always wondered how it's possible for you to be close enough to elicit a beep from the screen, but not close enough to actually trigger the action you want. Surely, you would think, if you are close enough to trigger a beep, then you are close enough to trigger the action.

I assume it's something to do with the display itself. Does anyone have any thoughts on how this could happen in the development/manufacturing process?


I've noticed this behavior too on my K2 which is only a few weeks old. It seems to be just me "missing" the onscreen buttons sometimes. I haven't really thought much of it, since it seems to work fine if I aim my finger more carefully. I wonder if the software just has a strange way of implementing its touch detection boxes. I owned a Krome before I got the K2, but I honestly don't remember if I noticed the same behavior on the Krome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LaLaLand



Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 1:41 pm    Post subject: Upper tones are gone again Reply with quote

Remember when I mentioned how ones piano went dead in several keys at the high end of keyboard? Well, that hapened once again, yesterday. I was playing a simple preloaded Combi. I was doing some gentle tweaking, but not so much with sound itself. And suddenly I have lost the upper end on guitar. I have pressed every button in every setting page, to see if something would change. Nothing moved it from dead point. https://youtu.be/drtfVCuFtGc

Same happened with guitar program.
https://youtu.be/LHZtnXzLEbs

Looks like some nasty steep filter, because last hearable sound is a bit fainter. But how did I do that? Did I do that unconsciously , or Kronos is playing jokes with me? I really don’t know what’s happening, I ve checked all parameters I know. After power recycle, situation didn’t change. Yes , I was saving changes to my combi, but I didn’t save anything after this happened. The show with this softsinth workstation continues to entertain....
_________________
Ride on
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 6802
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 2:43 pm    Post subject: Re: Upper tones are gone again Reply with quote

LaLaLand wrote:
R
Same happened with guitar program.
https://youtu.be/LHZtnXzLEbs


....


I don't recognize this ' Straits ' guitar program.

You sure its factory ? Or is it your custom or something off the Internet ?

this is part of troubleshooting.

Without a doubt, the top key notes should sound on a guitar mute program, however
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
LaLaLand



Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks GregC for prompt reaction! I appreciate it.
What can I do to show you this is the stock program?
_________________
Ride on
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 6802
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LaLaLand wrote:
Thanks GregC for prompt reaction! I appreciate it.
What can I do to show you this is the stock program?


I saw your YT, that was good. I have a fully updated 7 yr Kronos.
Its supposed to be identical to your K2. Just slightly different bank locations here and there.

I went thru all my guitar programs/Combis and your Program does not show.

Maybe give me the exact location #. its bank F ---
also the the program 1 # higher and 1 # lower.

I know its more work, but if yours is a factory guitar Program, I should also have it. You bought your K2 100% new ? Not a demo, etc ?
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
LaLaLand



Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It’s I-F020.
I-F019= Buzzy String Guitar
I-F021= Distortion Guitar 1 VJS

SOFTWARE IS 3.1.2.
_________________
Ride on
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 6802
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LaLaLand wrote:
It’s I-F020.
I-F019= Buzzy String Guitar
I-F021= Distortion Guitar 1 VJS

SOFTWARE IS 3.1.2.


well that sucks, i don't have any of those guitar programs.

I am on 3.1.0 but that should make no diff. Kong does not include new programs in the OS updates.

Since I am suppose to have the same programs as a K2, I am slightly annoyed

Sorry I couldn't help, I don't have any advice. Maybe someone can mess with that particular program- and duplicate the issue
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
LaLaLand



Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I have found the sucker! I guess it’s a PCS OSC, whatever that is! Check here:
https://youtu.be/CmBojDYULrI

I still don’t have any idea how i have altered this. Now Combi work as well. But there’s som much to screw up with the sound if you don’t know exactly what you’re doing. And there’s no UNDO! Only power recycle.

All I know is that Kronos is too deep for me and it requires days of study to figure its relations and algorithms in programming. That makes me weary.
_________________
Ride on
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group