Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

MIDI in and out

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Deemac

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 7:13 pm    Post subject: MIDI in and out Reply with quote

Newbie here! I have a Kronos 2 73 key connected via MIDI to a Protools digi 002 surface (MIDI Out to In cable and back again) which is connected via firewire to my windows 10 PC. I'm using PreSonus studio one V3.5. I can get the Kronos to record MIDI to Studio One but it doesn't play back anything to the Kronos. (This was alos the case with the Protools software - V9) I know this is really dumb! What am I doing wrong? How do I get the Kronos to play / receive back recorded MIDI?
Lightbringer

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm a Studio One user. In Studio One, you'd want to set the Kronos up as a MIDI "device" instead of (or in addition to) setting it up as a MIDI "keyboard". This will let you specify both the MIDI input and output ports. As opposed to a MIDI keyboard only lets you specify an input port.

Then in the track where you're recording the MIDI, there will be a second drop down underneath the one that lets you select the MIDI input device that lets you optionally pick a MIDI output device. You might need to make the track bigger vertically to be able to see that additional drop down.

Hopefully that's clear. If not I can try to attach some screen shots.
Lightbringer

PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was not in front of the computer when I wrote this. The correct terminology is "instrument" rather than device.