Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Sending SYSEX commands to another keyboard from Setlist?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
benzcent



Joined: 08 Apr 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 6:40 pm    Post subject: Sending SYSEX commands to another keyboard from Setlist? Reply with quote

I tried searching for the right keywords but can't find the answer. Proud new owner here of Korg Kronos2 73. I want to use it as the master keyboard to my Montage and I simply want to click on a selection from my setlist on the kronos and change the live set on the montage. yamaha supports receiving sysex and i was currently doing this already with my moxf6, but have since moved to the Korg kronos.
Any help would be appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KK
Full Member


Joined: 13 Oct 2016
Posts: 242

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you use a computer or laptop nearby, you can easily achieve anything SYSEX with a freeware like MIDI-OX.
_________________
Musician, solution designer for keyboard instruments and more.
Kronos : Color LEDs mod
Kronos : Custom velocity maps
Kronos : Aftertouch hardware solution
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
benzcent



Joined: 08 Apr 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 2:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KK wrote:
If you use a computer or laptop nearby, you can easily achieve anything SYSEX with a freeware like MIDI-OX.


sorry, forgot to mention, no laptop/computer setup. just midi from kronos midi out to montage midi in. and sending syses over that connection. the idea is as i change setlist on kronos, it will change the set list on the montage via sysex over midi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drummond
Junior Member


Joined: 25 Feb 2016
Posts: 60
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 2:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Create a short song which contains only the sys ex message you need. Play it from the setlist.
_________________
Korg Kronos 88 (150gb+3gb), Alesis Fusion 6HD (60gb+384mb), Hammond XK1c, Moog Slim Phatty, Access Virus B, Roland JP8000, Oberheim Matrix 1000, Behringer Deepmind 12, Yamaha Reface DX, Alesis Vortex Wireless, Compac Univox II, Casio MT600 and PT82.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
benzcent



Joined: 08 Apr 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 2:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Drummond wrote:
Create a short song which contains only the sys ex message you need. Play it from the setlist.


Thanks Drummond! Newbie, so forgive this question. My setlist on the Kronos will be loaded with a combo or patch i want to play.
I'd like to select a setlist, say, containing a Brass combo, then as a select that it will send a sysex to the montage to select a setlist on that containing, say a EP with strings. Where do i insert the song you mentioned?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
benzcent



Joined: 08 Apr 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Drummond wrote:
Create a short song which contains only the sys ex message you need. Play it from the setlist.


Thanks Drummond! Newbie, so forgive this question. My setlist on the Kronos will be loaded with a combi or patch i want to play.
I'd like to select a setlist, say, containing a Brass combi, then as i select that it will send a sysex to the montage to select a setlist on that containing, say a EP with strings. Where do i insert the song you mentioned?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psionic311
Platinum Member


Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 647
Location: Orlando, Florida USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Instead of using sysex, try just turning on program change on the Kronos (GLOBAL/MIDI/MIDI tab, upper right). The Montage should respond automatically if also set to respond to MIDI program change commands.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group