Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Kronos as an audio interface

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
keeverw
Full Member


Joined: 03 May 2010
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 2:25 pm    Post subject: Kronos as an audio interface Reply with quote

I have a Scarlett 6i6 right now, but I'm trying to downsize my setup.
Can I plug a mic or guitar or whatever into one of the Kronos' audio inputs, and then send that audio to a DAW via the USB-B out on the Kronos?

Thanks in advance!


edit: on the same topic, can I assign the outputs of the Kronos as my DAW outputs via USB?
_________________
"For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not even worth comparing to the glory that will be revealed to us." Rom 8:18
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CharlesFerraro
Platinum Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 780
Location: California

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, and yes.
_________________
paypal.me/CharlesFerraro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
19naia
Platinum Member


Joined: 29 Nov 2012
Posts: 953

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kronos works like a plug-in in DAW setting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danmusician
Platinum Member


Joined: 08 Apr 2009
Posts: 803
Location: Southern PA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The downside to the Kronos as your only audio interface is that you don't have any XLR inputs for your mics. Also, not phantom power.
_________________
Kronos 2 88, Kronos Classic 73, PX-5S, Kronos 2 61, Roli Seaboard Rise 49, MOTU Mach 5, Authorized Steinway, Real Guitar, MOTU 896HD, Digital Performer, Band-in-a-Box with Real Tracks, iPad Pro, Bose L1 Model II, Bose L1 Compact
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gunnar
Full Member


Joined: 27 Jan 2016
Posts: 124
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is also that small problem of the Kronos USB Audio interface on OSX [1]. I seem to recall it was stated here on the forum that it was fixed in the very latest OSX (Mojave), but it is for sure a problem if you're on Sierra or High Sierra.

[1]: http://www.korgforums.com/forum/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=109678&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=
_________________
Gear: Korg Kronos 2 73, Arturia Microbrute & MiniBrute 2, Moog Mother-32, Ibanez RG320DXFM Guitar, ESP Viper 254FM Bass, Blackstar HT-1
Software: Reaper, EZ Drummer
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/gunnarsletta
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tdwctdwc
Full Member


Joined: 31 Mar 2012
Posts: 207

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe not the reply you want but i would suggest to keep using the Scarlet with your Kronos using good quality 1/4 cables.

I own a 18i20 and i really like the way its preamps make my Kronos sound, especially the pianos.
_________________
www.rabihrihana.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keeverw
Full Member


Joined: 03 May 2010
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tdwctdwc wrote:
Maybe not the reply you want but i would suggest to keep using the Scarlet with your Kronos using good quality 1/4 cables.

I own a 18i20 and i really like the way its preamps make my Kronos sound, especially the pianos.


After thinking further on it, I think you're right.
Also I don't want to boot up my Kronos if I'm recording guitar or vox, etc.
_________________
"For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not even worth comparing to the glory that will be revealed to us." Rom 8:18
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LZ
Platinum Member


Joined: 02 May 2007
Posts: 572
Location: St. Louis, MO

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2018 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

danmusician wrote:
The downside to the Kronos as your only audio interface is that you don't have any XLR inputs for your mics. Also, not phantom power.


Keep in mind that they are balanced inputs, so you can use an XLR to TRS adapter and still run balanced - assuming of course it is a dynamic mic and doesn't require phantom power, as you suggested. There is a mic/line switch on each input. I have used dynamic mics into the inputs in this fashion with decent success though it is a bit finicky in terms of gain staging properly with the other parts and not clipping the input.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group