Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Havian 30 Big bug or broken machine

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Pa600/Pa300
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jeanloop



Joined: 23 Nov 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 8:36 am    Post subject: Havian 30 Big bug or broken machine Reply with quote

Hello

I just bought a Havian 30 and I'm having a big problem with memory management.
Version OS 2.0.0

Before sending my keyboard for repair, I would like to know if a user of Havian 30 (or possibly PA 300) can confirm that it is not a problem of OS (and therefore my machine is down ).

Problem:
Loading a sound with associated PCM affects the PCM ROM.

Procedure:
For example, loading the sound 'Steinway Grand' from the file 'Dopamine-PA600-2.6.SET' -> SOUND -> USER01.PCG -> '01: 122 Steinway Grand '(thanks MamieNova)
Then listen to the sound Factory-> Piano-> P3 -> 'Harpsichord': the sound is distorted.
More precisely the multisample ROM 70: 'Harpsichord 1' is affected: mix of the original sound and samples of 'Steinway Grand'

If we 'Delete' Steinway Grand, then we erase the PCM RAM by 'Delete All User PCM Samples' Sound Factory-> Piano-> P3 -> 'Harpsichord' remains denatured.
Turn off the machine and then turn it on again to return to normal.

I took the example of loading the sound 'Steinway Grand' from the Dopmamine file because the effect is obvious, but the phenomenon occurs by loading any sound with PCM from any .SET file ( *)
And it's still the sound 'Harpsichord' that is affected.

(*) In fact I tried with the files "ALEX.SET" of Galetouille for PA1X and "PA1X-IRISH-ACT.SET" of IrishAct coming from KorgForum (which I used without problem a few years ago with my PA800).

Well, I hope that a user of Havian 30 can help me.

(I apologise for my poor english)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musiccankill
Platinum Member


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 587
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello!
Seems like a software issue most probably but lets confirm this..
I have both a pa300 and a havian 30.
Can you send me the link of the exact set you used (the dopamine one) to load this specific sound and test the rom sound after it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeanloop



Joined: 23 Nov 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello

Thank you for the reply.

You can download the dopamine .set file at https://mega.nz/#!eAoT0ABR!4mw4Y1J7OUTy0TuD93KvjjXCMVG9wbmyt-t_riDWDcA
from the site https://dopamine4korg.wordpress.com/full-sets/

But, as I have say, I have the problem from any sound with PCM from any SET file load in my Havian.


I try also 'bonus software' given from korg with PA800 (set of drumkits with PCM and style)

I try IrishAct you can download here on KorgForum.

An also the ALEX.SET.

Here are temporary links for the three last SET:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1MC5qWDk7T8RAZIGsEq4S3Cogmd1YuMj7

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1D5rNj6c8knqbIhTD6p83gY9u-I-UWxyn

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1FmE3j3B4dDYZVz27qAWZs_S7eEtJBKit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musiccankill
Platinum Member


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 587
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well there are 2 cases...Downloading dopamine now to test..
1st case is that it is a software problem at the memory allocation for rom and ram .
2nd case is that it is a hardware problem on yours in the ram of the cpu board (a ball got unsoldered under the IC or something like that)
I doubt it is the second one as this should be causing more problems as the system (OS) uses the same ram IC..
I will find some time to test later today and report back!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeanloop



Joined: 23 Nov 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for the reply.

I am looking forward to hearing from you ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musiccankill
Platinum Member


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 587
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did the test yesterday and since that time i was trying to figure out what is going on!
Haven't tested on pa300 yet but i think pa300 is ok !
It seems the problem is wrong addressing in the ram memory!
Havian 30 has 64mb more factory library than pa300 and pa600 (haven't checked but a guess is that it is a better piano sound!)..These 64mb are free on pa 300 and it seems that while they coded the start address in the dsp memory , they overwrote the same part the extra 64mb are getting loaded to!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeanloop



Joined: 23 Nov 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2018 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, if I translated your message correctly (I am French and I have some difficulties to translate), this is a problem of Havian OS, and my machine is not in question ?
In this case, do you know how to inform Korg of this problem, if he is not aware ?
And thank you very much for the time spent on this problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musiccankill
Platinum Member


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 587
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes your havian 30 is ok .
The os is the problem!
They read here but i have already sent an email to inform them in person.
Nice find!
Do you know of any other sounds that get affected?
I also checked pa300 and it doesn't have these sounds!!!So my guess must be correct.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeanloop



Joined: 23 Nov 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hope there will be a patch one day, it seems that the Havian is no longer produced by Korg US.

For the moment, I only found the multisamples 70,71,74,75,76 involved.
If I find something else I'll post it here.

Have a good day.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oggkmg



Joined: 03 Sep 2017
Posts: 4
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem with my Havian 30
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Pa600/Pa300 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group