Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Separate sliders recording

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Thepoliskey



Joined: 28 Mar 2014
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:15 pm    Post subject: Separate sliders recording Reply with quote

Hi,

In sequencer I splited drumtrack keyboard zones to 4 different timbres so I could turn separately kick, snare etc. I set those timbres to one midi channel. While recording I fade in kick first, then snare and so on. But when playing back all sliders behave the same (mapping kick's slider movements). What I'm doing wrong and how to do this the right way, help please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
19naia
Platinum Member


Joined: 29 Nov 2012
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:22 pm    Post subject: Re: Separate sliders recording Reply with quote

Thepoliskey wrote:
Hi,

In sequencer I splited drumtrack keyboard zones to 4 different timbres so I could turn separately kick, snare etc. I set those timbres to one midi channel. While recording I fade in kick first, then snare and so on. But when playing back all sliders behave the same (mapping kick's slider movements). What I'm doing wrong and how to do this the right way, help please?


Did you record each track by itself making sure that all other tracks were off when recording?
Or maybe the slider input is recorded to Master track and master track plays it back for Midi channel 1 and any track set to midi channel 1 will respond to all messages recorded for midi channel 1?

Also there is a “Level Hold” function, that makes all sliders lock into unison so that any movement in one will take all the other levels along in the same increment. Check to see “Level Hold” is not enabled.

Maybe someone knows some setting somewhere to isolate slider messages between tracks using the same midi channel. Maybe a setting that determines if slider inputs get recorded to master track or independent tracks.

If no simple setting solution comes up, i would try recording each track without slider input, and then do an overdub of each track where you record and make your slider inputs over the prerecorded drum track part.

Maybe “Level Hold” is only in Combi mode?
I don’t think i have a good handle on the problem, but it interests me.
Sorry if i have no real solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ronnfigg
Platinum Member


Joined: 26 Mar 2011
Posts: 1919
Location: CA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Being on the same MIDI channel causes this. Not sure what the workaround is.
_________________
"To me the synthesizer was always a source of new sounds that musicians could use to expand the range of possibilities for making music."
Bob Moog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ronnfigg
Platinum Member


Joined: 26 Mar 2011
Posts: 1919
Location: CA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PS- the feature is called "Hold Balance" and it is in Combi not Seq Mode.
_________________
"To me the synthesizer was always a source of new sounds that musicians could use to expand the range of possibilities for making music."
Bob Moog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thepoliskey



Joined: 28 Mar 2014
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did not any other solution so I made like this:
Set 4 timbres to the same midi channel, record all of them (just midi notes), then changed each timbre to different channel, and then record sliders in overdub mode ( all the same time).
Not perfect way I know but did a job.

If anyone knows better way to do it, please share.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SeedyLee
Platinum Member


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 1091
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 3:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The solution is to change a setting in Global -> MIDI called "Parem Edit" and ensure this is set to "SysEx" when recording your slider movements. If this is set to Continuous Controller, then your slider movements will be recorded according to the channel you are recording to and all in the one track. When they are played back, they will affect all tracks using the same channel number. By using Sysex, the movements are still recorded to the same track, but details of which slider has moved are embedded in the Sysex message and they will be affect the correct slider.


The main downside of recording them as sysex messages is that they become harder to edit, but this may not be an issue if you're recording the movements live anyway.
_________________
Message me on BlackBerry Messenger: 2B3628BE
Current Equipment:
Korg Kronos 61, , Monotron, , Roland JV-80 & JV-1080 Kawai L1, Lexicon MX200, Motu 828 mk3, Presonus FaderPort, Motu MicroLite, Behringer BCR2000, Yamaha QY70, VocalWorks+, Rode NT1-A, Tascam VLX5 Monitors Tascam CD Player, Shure SRH840 Headphones. Shure IEM, Shure SM58, JBL PRX12 monitor wedge.

Previous: Triton LE 61/Sampling/64MB/4GB SCSI, MS2000BR, Monotribe, NanoKontrol, NanoKeys, Kaossilator II, Casio HT3000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group