Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Volca and Arturia Keystep- Frustrated and help dearly needed

View previous topic :: View next topic  
CoffeeVolca

PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2020 5:21 pm    Post subject: Volca and Arturia Keystep- Frustrated and help dearly needed Reply with quote

Hey everyone, I'm desperate for somebody to help me understand how to get my Keystep and Volca's to play nice.

I'll try to be as concise as I can, however I am a complete novice with all of this, so please be considerate Smile

I've set the Keystep to the Korg '1 pulse' setting in the MIDI Control Centre-
MIDI short message is set on the Volcas
Switches on the Keystep are set to 'internal' for clock.
The Keystep and Volcas are on same MIDI channel-1.

Now here are my issues I'm experiencing:

It will play notes through the Keystep, no worries there- although you cannot change the octave range via the Volca- it does adjust through the Keystep no problem.

The keyboard play function never works (shift+Oct+ button) so can't play over a sequence. The Mod ribbon also produces no effect.

Arpeggiator mode on the Keystep doesn't result in any change.

However, this isn't the main issue. When I press record to create a sequence, I will press play and the sound that is produced (tempo, rhythm etc) does not match what I played.

This is compounded further, when I stop the sequence and try to play a note again, the sound produced (same on Keys and Bass) is best described as extremely short in duration and the sound produced is muted.

This remains regardless of what I try to do such as record a new sequence, until I turn the Volca off and on again.