Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

wavestate and opsix native plug ins
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Latest News
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pranaearth
Full Member


Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 199
Location: New York

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2022 4:36 am    Post subject: wavestate and opsix native plug ins Reply with quote

Now we're talking!
VST3, AU, AAX, Standalone for Windows and M1Native

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wxje0gdwAwo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GZuIwbjhHaM

Just waiting on the modwave.
The links to the products listed in the videos don't work yet.
I wonder how much, and if any sort of update/upgrade is going to be offered?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Soundsgood
Junior Member


Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 85
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2022 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are offered a discount if you already own the hardware.

Korg calls this "Special crossgrade from hardware":

https://www.korg.com/uk/products/software/opsix_native/#1

From the latest librarian, you can get a coupon code that you use when you buy the software. (File menu -> Get plug-in Coupon...)
_________________
Roland Fantom 7, Korg T1, Korg Kross 61, Korg Krome 73, Korg Wavestate, Korg Minilogue XD, Korg Opsix,
Korg Electribe II S, Korg Wavestation A/D, Roland JD-XI, Korg MS-20, Korg Karma, Korg Dsm-110, Korg Elecribe Sampler 2, Nord Stage 3, Nord Electro 6,
Nord Drum 3, Waldorf Blofeld, Roland D-550
iPad, Roland-D05, Elekrtron Digitakt, Elektron Digitone, Novation Peak
A lot of cumputer stuff!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Broadwave
Platinum Member


Joined: 25 May 2011
Posts: 1111
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2022 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll wait until it's bundled in with Korg Collection 4 - Probably won't be too long.
_________________
Synth DIY Projects
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
shaunyata



Joined: 14 Mar 2021
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2022 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My question is this (and this is not sour grapes): if I already own a Wavestate with the free Editor/Librarian software, why would I need the Native VST? What more functionality would I gain from the VST that I don't already have? I can easily integrate the Wavestate with Ableton--do it all the time.

The Native interface looks like another version of the Editor software. The 4 lanes have a more expanded layout that's a bit easier to read.

About the only advantage I can think of is that I won't have to route the audio through an audio converter, like M-Audio. That saves a few extra steps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Soundsgood
Junior Member


Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 85
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2022 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

shaunyata wrote:
My question is this (and this is not sour grapes): if I already own a Wavestate with the free Editor/Librarian software, why would I need the Native VST? What more functionality would I gain from the VST that I don't already have? I can easily integrate the Wavestate with Ableton--do it all the time.


That's why I bought the opsix vst, to get a nice editor!
_________________
Roland Fantom 7, Korg T1, Korg Kross 61, Korg Krome 73, Korg Wavestate, Korg Minilogue XD, Korg Opsix,
Korg Electribe II S, Korg Wavestation A/D, Roland JD-XI, Korg MS-20, Korg Karma, Korg Dsm-110, Korg Elecribe Sampler 2, Nord Stage 3, Nord Electro 6,
Nord Drum 3, Waldorf Blofeld, Roland D-550
iPad, Roland-D05, Elekrtron Digitakt, Elektron Digitone, Novation Peak
A lot of cumputer stuff!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Derek Cook
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 20 Jul 2014
Posts: 1209
Location: Wales, UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2022 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

shaunyata wrote:
My question is this (and this is not sour grapes): if I already own a Wavestate with the free Editor/Librarian software, why would I need the Native VST? What more functionality would I gain from the VST that I don't already have? I can easily integrate the Wavestate with Ableton--do it all the time.

The Native interface looks like another version of the Editor software. The 4 lanes have a more expanded layout that's a bit easier to read.

About the only advantage I can think of is that I won't have to route the audio through an audio converter, like M-Audio. That saves a few extra steps.


It's a good question, but at $49 for a crossgrade, it was a no brainer

Arguably it would be one less board to take out if ever I gig again (as I have a small PC at the heart of my gig rig.

The other thing to consider is that whilst some love it, I hate the form factor that the Wavestate is packaged in. 3 octaves with no aftertouch does not do this synth engine justice. If Korg ever release the Wavestate SE (still no news despite it being shown a year ago?). So I mostly play the Wavestate from other synth keyboards. I guess now the plugin is released, I now have that as an option instead.

The other use case I can think of is that complex wavestate performances gobble polyphony, so this gives me an option to have two or more complex wavestate performances playing at the same time
_________________
Derek Cook - Java Developer



Follow kronos.factory development and submit ideas over at the kronos.factory Trello Board

My Echoes Music Website
My Carreg Ddu Music Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Akihabara



Joined: 26 Mar 2021
Posts: 2
Location: Currently London (UK).

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2022 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Derek Cook wrote:


The other thing to consider is that whilst some love it, I hate the form factor that the Wavestate is packaged in. 3 octaves with no aftertouch does not do this synth engine justice. If Korg ever release the Wavestate SE (still no news despite it being shown a year ago?). So I mostly play the Wavestate from other synth keyboards. I guess now the plugin is released, I now have that as an option instead.


Whilst rather obvious I imagine, that SE (and whatever other planned models there are) will be excessively delayed by the changing tide of world events; I have wondered this as well. They certainly weren't built with players in mind - hence the 'cheap toys' reference across the internet. It's not a small voice either. Likely due to the competitive price points of ASM.

Myself I can't imagine a singular use for a 3 octave bed. Let alone one without AT. Is it portable and workable? Well clearly bedroom 'performers' like it and I've seen plenty of mixed uses for such devices. But if we talk about harnessing the actual power of the instrument - I agree with you. It demands a bigger range. Are we alone? No. One of the very first wave of complaints aligned with 'when are those SE models coming?'. And you'll find similar, across the entire internet landscape.

The lost performance power is obvious. Sure people can use a controller. In light of native release it's as if KORG feel the same way. I didn't expect them to ever walk the module route again; yet people hack these keybeds off. Such is people's distaste for them.

Either way it is what it is. With so many KORG products now discontinued across the board and Roland hitting their usual stride; will be more curious as to what KORG is up to bat with next than any of this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Derek Cook
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 20 Jul 2014
Posts: 1209
Location: Wales, UK

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2022 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I pulled the trigger and went for the Wavestate and OPSIX native. The Wavestate was a no brainer as it only cost me $45 as a wavesate owner. I have imported my sound libraries from the hardware into the native version and I can hear no difference. I will always keep a hardware wavestate (preferably the 5 octave SE when it finally comes out), but the soft version allows me to run several performances if needed at the same time (one in hardware, one or more in software), as I simply love the Wavestate.

I was more on the fence re the OPSIX. I downloaded the demo and found most of the presets quite underwhelming. But there are some 3rd party soundsets out there that sound great, so I went for it, but then found the catch..... Whilst the Wavestate Native has an import capability, the OPSIX native currently does not!!! Shocked Shocked I am only hopeful that that is soon remedies, so my OPSIX purchase is not wasted - well I could always learn to program it myself as well of course. But worth being aware of.

So the question is: am I being dull with the OPSIX and missing how to import data, or is it a genuine limitation?
_________________
Derek Cook - Java Developer



Follow kronos.factory development and submit ideas over at the kronos.factory Trello Board

My Echoes Music Website
My Carreg Ddu Music Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jmoss



Joined: 29 Mar 2022
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2022 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Derek Cook wrote:
I was more on the fence re the OPSIX. I downloaded the demo and found most of the presets quite underwhelming. But there are some 3rd party soundsets out there that sound great, so I went for it, but then found the catch..... Whilst the Wavestate Native has an import capability, the OPSIX native currently does not!!! Shocked Shocked I am only hopeful that that is soon remedies, so my OPSIX purchase is not wasted - well I could always learn to program it myself as well of course. But worth being aware of.

So the question is: am I being dull with the OPSIX and missing how to import data, or is it a genuine limitation?


You made me curious since I did not test that yet. Seems it works but its a bit quirky. The way I found is this:
1) Click on Save in the plugin. This will reveal you the folder where the user presets are stored.
2) Open your opsix library in the opsix editor (the editor for the hardware)
3) Export each and every program as an opsix program (I could not find a bulk save)
4) Copy these programs to the user folder

Strangely, I could only make the show up in the browser after saving one preset to the user folder from the plugin. Tested on Windows 11.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Derek Cook
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 20 Jul 2014
Posts: 1209
Location: Wales, UK

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2022 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the info.

I do not have a physical OPSIX myself but I may pass this the vendor whose sounds I am interested in.
_________________
Derek Cook - Java Developer



Follow kronos.factory development and submit ideas over at the kronos.factory Trello Board

My Echoes Music Website
My Carreg Ddu Music Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jmoss



Joined: 29 Mar 2022
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2022 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Derek Cook wrote:
Thanks for the info.

I do not have a physical OPSIX myself but I may pass this the vendor whose sounds I am interested in.


You don't have to. You simply can download and install the editor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Derek Cook
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 20 Jul 2014
Posts: 1209
Location: Wales, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2022 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried the editor, but couldn't quite see how that was going to work, but it has been a long day....

I took a chance and purchased Cinematic Ambient from LFO store (who make very good patches for all sorts of synths), and it works nicely.

I create a folder called KORG/opsix native/Presets/Cinematic Ambient and copied the presets there, and they then show up under a separate folder in the OPSIX patch view. I.e. you can create your own folders for different banks

Shame it was not explained a little better or made a little easier, but that has me going now, thanks to the pointers you gave. Smile
_________________
Derek Cook - Java Developer



Follow kronos.factory development and submit ideas over at the kronos.factory Trello Board

My Echoes Music Website
My Carreg Ddu Music Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bachus
Platinum Member


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 3043

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2022 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems Korg is more into soft then hardware these days

Makes you wonder why they don’t make a Workstation that feels like a Kronos but actually controlls VST’s running on a PC..
_________________
Korg Kronos 2/88 , Genos, Mainstage3 +VSTsu, ipad pro, GSi Gemini, Roland Integra 7, Jupiter Xm, Yamaha motif XS rack, Ketron SD90.
www.keyszone.boards.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Broadwave
Platinum Member


Joined: 25 May 2011
Posts: 1111
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2022 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bachus wrote:
Makes you wonder why they don’t make a Workstation that feels like a Kronos but actually controlls VST’s running on a PC..


I would really like to see an updated and reliable Open Labs NEKO type system - The idea was great, but just missed the mark.


_________________
Synth DIY Projects
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cs759



Joined: 28 Oct 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2022 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shaunyata wrote:
My question is this (and this is not sour grapes): if I already own a Wavestate with the free Editor/Librarian software, why would I need the Native VST? What more functionality would I gain from the VST that I don't already have? I can easily integrate the Wavestate with Ableton--do it all the time.

The Native interface looks like another version of the Editor software. The 4 lanes have a more expanded layout that's a bit easier to read.

About the only advantage I can think of is that I won't have to route the audio through an audio converter, like M-Audio. That saves a few extra steps.


You would be able to render events or tracks faster and easier than recording hardware, freeze tracks, no dealing with patches offline.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Latest News All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group