Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

I am really sick of the state of the Pa5X
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
fatih89

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2024 9:07 pm    Post subject: I am really sick of the state of the Pa5X Reply with quote

I am not a musician but an engineer. I use keyboards not mainly as an instrument to make music but to program sounds and styles for others. I started programming sounds for plugins like NI Kontakt about 5 years ago and didn't touch my keyboards since then, since plugins like NI Kontakt gave me unlimited possibilities and the programming capabilities even of the most advanced keyboards, including the Pa4X, were extremely limited when it comes to things like multisample-handling, expression, realism, effects (routing, sidechain) etc.

If you are only a living-room musician (no offense) these points are probably not important for you; great for you.

In the last months I bought different keyboards from different brands in different price ranges, because I wanted and needed a contemporary successor to my Pa3X (and Pa4X, which I don't own but have practically unlimited access to). While the cheaper keyboards in the 1000-2000€ range do not have the scope of editing options like the Pa-Series, I was surprised what simple and useful functions and tools these keyboards offer. Just to mention a few of them:
- playing WAV-Files directly from Pads, without loading/saving them into the sample memory, creating a drumkit and assign the sample to a key, creating a pad and editing the settings of the pad.
- crossfade-portamento
- *FREE* PC editor to manage sets