Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Radias vs R3 Which Should I buy?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
sawunit

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 9:34 am    Post subject: Radias vs R3 Which Should I buy? Reply with quote

Hi this is my first time posting here. I just wanted to know what you guys think.

I was wondering how much better the radias was and whether it is entirely worth the few hundred extra dollars.

Things I am looking for include ability to work with computers and a lot of vocoding. I've worked with fruity loops and I noticed how the pads (I think that's what they are called) are different on each with the radias having sixteen and the r3 having 8. Other than that, are there any other major differences in the two?

thanks,
meatballfulton

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A huge difference with the Radias is more voices (24 vs. 8) and 4 timbres per program vs. 2. That means you can have more complex layering in your programs.

The Radias has far more knobs and a larger text display which speeds up programming quite a bit esp. for vocoding. More knobs also means you can control more parameters in your software. The extra octave of keys makes it easier to play two-handed and larger bend and mod wheels are easier to control. If you will be doing external signal processing, the four outputs of the Radias allow you to output each timbre independently and even do surround sound mixes.

The R3 comes with a gooseneck mike and has an XLR mike input. The Radias uses a headset mike and has only 1/4" and 1/8" inputs so you'd need a transformer to use another mike with XLR output.