Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

A complete newbie to the Synth world, please help me out.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg MS2000 & microKorg
View previous topic :: View next topic  
marshy

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 9:54 pm    Post subject: A complete newbie to the Synth world, please help me out. Reply with quote

Please bare with me here as i'm a teenage UK student who's completely new to this area of music, but i'd love to learn.

I've recently become fascinated with synths, and i'm about to purchase the MicroKorg.
I know this can easily be used to input MIDI (I'm using Cubase SX with a Hypersonic VST), but i'm interested in recording the actual sound that would come from the MK if i was playing it through speakers as an audio file on Cubase.

What's the most (cost) effective way of doing this? As i said i'm here to learn, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also, sorry if this topic has been raised before, as i'm sure it has been hundreds of times.
Everything i've previously read i've been unable to understand due to the complexity, so any newbie help would be fantastic.
musikmachine

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not familiar with SX3 but it should be straightforward.As well as midi cables you need a pair of audio cables.

Connect these from the L/R out on the mkorg to L/R in on the mbox.Now you have audio routed into your daw and you should hear it coming through your speakers when you play a note on the mkorg.

Now it should be a simple case of setting up an audio track in Cubase,arming it and recording your performance Smile