Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Drum Machine/Sequencer advice needed for newbie

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg MS2000 & microKorg
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Teedotyyz

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 9:19 pm    Post subject: Drum Machine/Sequencer advice needed for newbie Reply with quote

Hi everyone.

I am brand new to the whole synthesizer “experience” (for lack of a better word) and I am looking for some expert advice. I bought a microkorg about 6 months ago and am enjoying it immensely. I also have a demo copy of FL Studio which I putter around with when I have time.

My question is what drum machine/sequencer would best suit me for between $200-$300 used. I just want something to jam to that won’t cost an arm and a leg and would like some kit that would be portable so I am not tied to my PC all of the time.

I have been back and forth between different brands but have no idea if I should stick with Korg or go with something else.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! :D
fac

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What kind of music do you want to make?

Nord G2 + Waldorf XT + Korg MS2000R + ER-1 + ES-1 + Boss DR-770 + Dotcom modular + Mobius + Ensoniq ESQ-1 + Atomo Mochika
Teedotyyz

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 4:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good question.

Mostly electronica. I have been learning some doors tunes to jam with some guys at work and have downloaded some VST's but I love the Lo Fi Allstars, Crystal Meth, Moby etc.
Calvary_Band

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote