Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

SCSI for Triton Classic, Rack, and LE

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Classic Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MartinHines
Platinum Member


Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 2968
Location: Topeka, KS (USA)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2003 4:54 am    Post subject: SCSI for Triton Classic, Rack, and LE Reply with quote

I researched SCSI for my Triton Studio, and found out some information that I wanted to pass on to Classic, Rack, and LE owners who are interested in using SCSI peripherals.

All Tritons
------------
- all Tritons use the "SCSI-2" format
- Korg recommends against trying to directly connect the Triton and your computer to a SCSI device at the same time (since SCSI expects a single "master computer", it gets confused if there are two computers [Triton and computer])
- A SCSI device is then either connected to the Triton, or the computer, but never to both at the same time.
- For recordable SCSI drives (Zip, ORB, hard drive) this means you use it to transfer data from the computer, then reconnect the device to your Triton (a 2-step data transfer process)


Triton Classic and Triton-Rack
------------------------------
- to use SCSI, requires the EXB-SCSI Option
- the EXB-SCSI has what I would call a "DB-25" connector (you can count the pins)
http://www.korg.com/gear/info.asp?A_PROD_NO=EXBSCSI


Triton LE
---------
- to use SCSI, requires the EXB-SMPL Option
- the EXB-SMPL has what I would call a "HD-50" connector
http://www.korg.com/gear/info.asp?A_PROD_NO=EXBSMPL


SCSI Computer Connections
--------------------------
To connect a SCSI device to your computer, people either install a SCSI-PCI board (inside the computer), use a "USB-to-SCSI Adapter", or use a "combo" device

Adaptec SCSI Products
http://www.adaptec.com/worldwide/product/prodtechindex.html?sess=no&cat=/Technology/SCSI&source=menu

USB-to-SCSI Adapters
- Adaptec sells two models: USBXChange and USB2XChange
- Castlewood sells one model:
http://shop.store.yahoo.com/orb-online/conmatecable.html


One Solution - Castlewood Orb "Combo" Drive
---------------------------------------------
For people who want the least amount of hassle, this is a single "all-in-one" solution that would allow you transfer data between the Triton and your computer AND act as a SCSI Hard Drive for your Triton.

This drive come with the adapter mentioned above. You would:
- connect the drive to the computer via a USB connection to copy data to the drive
- reconnect the drive via SCSI to the Triton
http://shop.store.yahoo.com/orb-online/orb22exulscs1.html

**** For Triton Classic/Rack Owners, this appears to have all the cables you need.

**** For Triton LE Owners, you would also need to buy the additional 50:50 SCSI cable for $14.95
http://shop.store.yahoo.com/orb-online/scsicable.html

Castlewood Web Site:
http://www.castlewood.com/


SCSI Resources
--------------
- Connector Pictures
http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/scsi_connecters.html

- SCSI Cables
http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/scsi_cables.html

- SCSI Connector Adapters
http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/scsi_adapters.html

- SCSI Standard
http://www.scsita.org/aboutscsi/SCSI_Overview.html

Happy SCSI-ing!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Francois
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 06 May 2003
Posts: 4842
Location: Northants - UK

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2003 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Besides Martin's excellent post, I would like to add that once you've got all your SCSI devices connected, the main reason if you hit problems will either be:

1- Bad SCSI cable

2- Bad termination

and most likely 2 instead of 1.

Termination is tricky. Some device have termination integrated and that's enough to make it work (eg. external Zip or Jaz). Sometimes though you need a termination plug even if a Zip is the last device in the chain. Some plugs are passive and some plugs are active. Again, there is no rule per se as to which is needed. Where a passive plug will work 90% of the time, with certain combinations of SCSI device, you need an active plug.

So don't despair if things do not work as they should do. SCSI can be a bit of an arcane art, but if you stick to troubleshooting point 1 or 2, you will get there in the end.

François
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mawd
Full Member


Joined: 04 Aug 2003
Posts: 114
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi....you give a list of SCSI cables.
What kind of/brand writer do you recommend?
Regards......Graham

mawd@ozemail.com.au
_________________
Regards.......MAWD

If you're into Lp--Cd transfers...
go here:
http://members.ozemail.com.au/~mawd/TVS-1.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Vesa
Platinum Member


Joined: 05 Jan 2002
Posts: 1002
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2007 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gee, 2 years between posts...guess I'll be back 2009 Smile

side note: scsi + 9GB scsi hdd work with KORG Triton-Rack..no issues at all..partitioned half fat16? (or 32 ..3 years ago) rest NTFS, so I could save mp3's from Windows to the part korg never saw.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Classic Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group