Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Electribulator - Software to enhance sounds of electribe EMX
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Electribe
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wax78
Junior Member


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 89
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatmandu wrote:
I will try the new one later today. Just one question, the EMX has a simple EG control, so how are you getting seperate attack, sustain, release controls with multiple <NbrPoints>? And what about decay? Does the EMX allow midi control of A,S,R but not via the front panel knobs? Just trying to figure out how you did this, thanks.


I'm just using software VCA signal to control LEVEL of each channel. That signal is sent at 10hz (fast enough for now i think) to the LEVEL (#10), like each other modulator signal to each CC to simulate VCAs or LFOs.

I choosed to remove DECAY as you can do that in the ATTACK part (but i'm perhaps wrong and will readd it one day).

The Emx allow only to use (has i know) LFO routed to AMP with the last waveform to simulate an ATTACK but only an attack... and u used your only one LFO Smile.

I can explain more if you want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Yatmandu
Full Member


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 162

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I understand. The VCA lives in your code and sets the EMX level for the part 10 times per second. Very cool! And your attack is really attack + decay since you can program each point, so I get it too. I'll try again later with my novation keyboard (I forgot, but it has a second midi input to my PC).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wax78
Junior Member


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 89
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatmandu wrote:
No, I understand. The VCA lives in your code and sets the EMX level for the part 10 times per second. Very cool! And your attack is really attack + decay since you can program each point, so I get it too. I'll try again later with my novation keyboard (I forgot, but it has a second midi input to my PC).


Yes. U can adjust the rate in the config.properties file, but I don't know how low you can go (overload of midi traffic ?).

Hope it'll work Smile

(The third midi question dialog could be bypassed due to bug, choose an input that wouldn't be used).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Kossi
Junior Member


Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 51
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2009 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wax78 wrote:
So i hope (v0.0.Cool will work both on linux and Mac.

Problem with OS X greater 10.4.8 is, that it's JVM does not support direct midi i/o any longer.
Fortunately there are several thirdparty MIDI SPIs available, that fill this gap and allow access to Apple's CoreMidi.

You may have a look at http://www.humatic.de/htools/mmj.htm. License is creative commons, so free for use in non-commercial applications. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wax78
Junior Member


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 89
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2009 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Kossi.

I have downloaded and looked trough api, and test exemples. Seems not hard to use. But the problem is I don't have mac to test it so i'm blocked for now. But i'll not forget it.

Second problem for mac is that several people reports that the jar don't work on mac os x due to :

Code:
java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: Bad version number in .class file
.

So for now, I know it work fine on windows.
Program launch well on linux, but can't test cause midi interface not detected correctly on my system (?).
For Macosx, i would like to know if anyone here manager to launch it, and make it work with midi (<=10.4.8 or stg).

Hope i'll find that bug soon, but my priority is to have feedback of the windows version first (not a lot for now), for linux, then mac. But due to the demand on mac i have to find solution soon Very Happy

See u.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
X-Trade
Moderator


Joined: 14 Feb 2006
Posts: 6488
Location: Leeds, UK

PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2009 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wax78 wrote:
Thanks Kossi.

I have downloaded and looked trough api, and test exemples. Seems not hard to use. But the problem is I don't have mac to test it so i'm blocked for now. But i'll not forget it.

Second problem for mac is that several people reports that the jar don't work on mac os x due to :

Code:
java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: Bad version number in .class file
.

So for now, I know it work fine on windows.
Program launch well on linux, but can't test cause midi interface not detected correctly on my system (?).
For Macosx, i would like to know if anyone here manager to launch it, and make it work with midi (<=10.4.8 or stg).

Hope i'll find that bug soon, but my priority is to have feedback of the windows version first (not a lot for now), for linux, then mac. But due to the demand on mac i have to find solution soon Very Happy

See u.


Hi,
I would love to help. I have a PC and a Mac, although I don't have an electribe! Sad

It might help you though if I point out that OSX is based on linux.
_________________
Current Gear: Kronos 61, RADIAS-R, Volca Bass, ESX-1, microKorg, MS2000B, R3, Kaossilator Pro +, MiniKP, AX3000B, nanoKontrol, nanoPad MK II,
Other Mfgrs: Moog Sub37, Roland Boutique JX03, Novation MiniNova, Akai APC40, MOTU MIDI TimePiece 2, ART Pro VLA, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40.
Past Gear: Korg Karma, TR61, Poly800, EA-1, ER-1, ES-1, Kawai K1, Novation ReMote37SL, Boss GT-6B
Software: NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Arturia V Collection, Ableton Live 9. Apple OSX El Capitan on 15" MacBook Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kossi
Junior Member


Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 51
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2009 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wax78 wrote:

Second problem for mac is that several people reports that the jar don't work on mac os x due to :

Code:
java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: Bad version number in .class file
.

I assume you compiled against 1.6? In most OS X 10.5.x installations 1.5 is still standard. 1.6 was distributed via software update but the user has to change default JVM via the app: /Applications/Utilities/Java/Java Preferences.App.

alternatively you may include this in your launch-shellscript:
Code:
JAVA_HOME=/System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/1.6.0/Home
export JAVA_HOME

/System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/1.6.0/Home/bin/java -mx128m -Djava.library.path=$base -cp $CP $clazz


Unfortunetaly i have no access in the moment to my MBP to verify this.

Best regards, Kossi


Last edited by Kossi on Wed May 13, 2009 10:24 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kossi
Junior Member


Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 51
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2009 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

edit: double post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yatmandu
Full Member


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 162

PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2009 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can use 1.6 but set the compiler compatibility flag to 1.5 as a quick test.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wax78
Junior Member


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 89
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2009 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kossi:
Yes it's compiled for >=1.6.

I add a third launch script for macos as your recommand me Kossi (but it's -Xmx128M no?typo).

Yatmandu.

Yes but the problem is somepart of my code need to be rewritted for java 1.5, cause i'm using some new functionnalty of 1.6. I'already tried, but ill do another attempt =)

Thanks my friends.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
wax78
Junior Member


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 89
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2009 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, here's a version compiled with 1.5 compliance for mac users.

http://renaud.warnotte.be/Brols/macosx.rar

Hope it won't stop on the Bad class number exception Neutral
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Kossi
Junior Member


Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 51
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2009 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wax78 wrote:
Ok, here's a version compiled with 1.5 compliance for mac users.

http://renaud.warnotte.be/Brols/macosx.rar

Hope it won't stop on the Bad class number exception Neutral

Starts up here with OS X 10.5.7 and Java SE6 (64bit), no luck with J2SE 5.0 (both 32 and 64 bit).
Just opened the jar with the standard jarlauncher-app built in in OS X with Java set to Java SE6.
go_macosx.sh also launched the app after setting executable bit to the .sh.
What did not work, is that the app sees the connected midi devices. Just shows the Sun internal one's.

Excerpt from your log messages:
Code:
Macintosh-2:macosx Lostsoul$ ./go_macosx.sh
: command not founde 1:
': not a valid identifierxport: `
: command not founde 3:
Nothing new
Available MIDI IN Devices:
2009-05-13 20:35:35.620 java[836:1003] Error loading /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/HAL/DVCPROHDAudio.plugin/Contents/MacOS/DVCPROHDAudio:  dlopen(/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/HAL/DVCPROHDAudio.plugin/Contents/MacOS/DVCPROHDAudio, 262): no suitable image found.  Did find:
   /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/HAL/DVCPROHDAudio.plugin/Contents/MacOS/DVCPROHDAudio: no matching architecture in universal wrapper
2009-05-13 20:35:35.621 java[836:1003] Cannot find function pointer NewPlugIn for factory C5A4CE5B-0BB8-11D8-9D75-0003939615B6 in CFBundle/CFPlugIn 0x11e713680 </Library> (bundle, not loaded)
0  Real Time Sequencer
IN  : 0: Real Time Sequencer Sun Microsystems Software sequencer
Available MIDI OUT Devices:
0  Real Time Sequencer
1  Java Sound Synthesizer
IN name : Java Sound Synthesizer
IN idx  : 1
Output selected [Java Sound Synthesizer] ?== Java Sound Synthesizer , Sun Microsystems, Software wavetable synthesizer and receiver
Available MIDI IN Devices:
0  Real Time Sequencer
IN  : 0: Real Time Sequencer Sun Microsystems Software sequencer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kossi
Junior Member


Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 51
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2009 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

addition:
after putting mmj and libmmj into /library/resources/java/extensions (like mentioned in the readme) startup fails with following expection:
Code:
Available MIDI IN Devices:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: /Users/Lostsoul/Library/Java/Extensions/libmmj.jnilib:
   at java.lang.ClassLoader$NativeLibrary.load(Native Method)
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary0(ClassLoader.java:1822)
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(ClassLoader.java:1715)
   at java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(Runtime.java:823)
   at java.lang.System.loadLibrary(System.java:1030)
   at de.humatic.mmj.MidiSystem.loadLibrary(MidiSystem.java:79)
   at de.humatic.mmj.MidiSystem.getDevices(MidiSystem.java:287)
   at de.humatic.mmj.spi.CoreMidiProvider.getDeviceInfo(CoreMidiProvider.java:37)
   at javax.sound.midi.MidiSystem.getMidiDeviceInfo(MidiSystem.java:173)
   at MidiConfig.MidiCommon.listDevicesAndExit(MidiCommon.java:97)
   at MidiConfig.ConfigMIDIINPUT.getJComboBox_OUT(ConfigMIDIINPUT.java:101)
   at MidiConfig.ConfigMIDIINPUT.getJContentPane(ConfigMIDIINPUT.java:87)
   at MidiConfig.ConfigMIDIINPUT.initialize(ConfigMIDIINPUT.java:54)
   at MidiConfig.ConfigMIDIINPUT.<init>(ConfigMIDIINPUT.java:43)
   at MidiConfig.ConfigMIDIINPUT.configTransmitter(ConfigMIDIINPUT.java:166)
   at MidiConfig.ConfigMIDIINPUT.createWindow(ConfigMIDIINPUT.java:161)
   at Multi.evt.<init>(evt.java:82)
   at Multi.evt.main(evt.java:432)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wax78
Junior Member


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 89
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2009 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, but the program launch, wasn't case before.

But you're certainly facing the MIDI bug of macosx (short resume).

I'll try to write a version that use mmj instead of standard api. Perhaps it'll project us one step further Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
drpsycho



Joined: 08 Aug 2008
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 9:07 am    Post subject: Emx editor Reply with quote

I wounder when someone who can programing, make emx1 editor, like this for em1 http://www.midiweb.de/index.htm ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Electribe All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 2 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group