Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Best practices for recording samples for keyboard playback?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Sampling and Libraries
View previous topic :: View next topic  
kanthos
Platinum Member

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 7:30 pm    Post subject: Best practices for recording samples for keyboard playback? Reply with quote

To give a bit of background, I have under 2 years experience with keyboards and am starting to move beyond using only stock presets. I'm also learning synthesis (I understand the theory of subtractive and FM synthesis and am working on applying it to create good-sounding sounds). I have a few synth VSTs that are much more complex than my Korg TR or the very basic synth on my Nord Stage, and I have software like NI Kontakt that has extensive libraries. It's not hard to come up with something on my computer that I can't reproduce using waveform ROM on the TR, so I want to be able to sample certain instruments in order to use them on my TR in a performance situation. My laptop isn't in great condition and I don't trust it when gigging, and I don't have the cash for a Receptor to just take the whole set of VSTs on the road; sampling is my only option other than making do with the waveform ROM.